Skip to main content
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

Alternative Media Guide: Web Resources

Alternative Media on the Web

Progressive and Independent News, Opinion, Investigative Reporting, Media Analysis and More!

Adbusters, http://adbusters.org
Not-for-profit magazine concerned about the erosion of our physical and cultural environments by commercial forces. Published by the Media Foundation.

Alternative Press Center: Directory of Periodicals
http://www.altpress.org/mod/apc_directory/index.php
Long list of links to Alternative sources of information (from Annotations -- A Guide to the Independent Critical Press).

Alternative Media Task Force, http://libr.org/amtf//
A subgroup of the American Library Association's Social Responsibilities Round Table working to promote the acquisition and use of alternative information resources in libraries.

Alternatives in Print, http://directory.libraryjuicepress.com/
Online directory of alternative periodicals and book publishers (combines and replaces Annotations, a directory of periodicals published by the Alternative Press Center, and Alternative Publishers of Books in North America (APBNA), a directory of publishers updated every two years by Byron Anderson).

Alternatives Magazine, http://www.alternativesmagazine.com/
"Resources for Cultural Creativity."

AlterNet.org, http://www.alternet.org/
Online magazine providing a mix of news, opinion and investigative journalism; a project of the Indepdendent Media Institute.

Association of Alternative Newsmedia, http://www.altweeklies.com/
A diverse group of 120 alternative news organizations covering every major metropolitan area and other less-populated regions of North America.

The Argosy, http://www.argosy.ca/
"Mount Allison's Independent Student Newspaper."

Broken Pencil, http://www.brokenpencil.com/
Website and print magazine dedicated to underground culture and the independent arts. Reprints of articles from the alternative press and reviews of zines, books, websites, videos, and artworks.

Buzzflash.com, http://www.buzzflash.com/
Headlines, news, and commentary for a geographically-diverse, politically-savvy, pro-democracy, anti-hypocrisy web audience.

Canadian Dimension, http://www.canadiandimension.com
A forum for debate, "where red meets green, feminists take on socialists...". Plus reviews of books, films, web sites, CDs, and videos.

CMAQ: Centre for Media Alternative - Quebec, http://www.cmaq.net/en/
"A physical meeting point and a virtual platform for independent and alternative information."

Columbia Journalism Review (CJR), http://www.cjr.org/
See the 2003 September/October issue for a special report on Alterntive media.

Common Dreams: NewsCenter, http://www.commondreams.org
"Breaking news & views for the progressive community."

Counterpoise, http://www.counterpoise.info/
"A quarterly review journal for the alternative press."  Site appears to be inactive (2013). 

Cursor.org, http://www.cursor.org/
Ceased publication in 2008.  Links and some older material still accessible. 

Democracy Now! http://www.democracynow.org/
A national (U.S), daily, independent, news program hosted by journalists Amy Goodman and Juan Gonzalez. Site includes searchable and browsable archive of past shows.

DeSmog Canada, http://www.desmog.ca/
DeSmog Canada seeks to provide "a credible forum for constructive, engaged public conversations about important issues facing Canada." 

The Dominion, http://www.dominionpaper.ca/
Canadian monthly paper that "aims to provide accurate, critical coverage that is accountable to its readers and the subjects it tackles." 

Fairness & Accuracy in Reporting, http://www.fair.org
National (U.S.) non-profit media watch group offering criticism of media bias and censorship.  Publishes Extra, a magazine of media criticism.

Free Press, http://www.freepress.net
A nonpartisan organization "advocating for universal and affordable Internet access, diverse media ownership, vibrant public media and quality journalism." Launched in December 2002 by Robert McChesney in collaboration with John Nichols and Josh Silver. See also: the National Conference on Media Reform site.

Independentmedia.ca, http://www.independentmedia.ca/
A directory of non-corporate journalism in Canada. Created by MANA (the Media Alliance for New Activism).

Independent Media Center (IMC), http://www.indymedia.org/
"Indymedia is a collective of independent media organizations and hundreds of journalists offering grassroots, non-corporate coverage. Indymedia is a democratic media outlet for the creation of radical, accurate, and passionate tellings of truth." Established by independent and alternative media organizations and activists in 1999 to provide grassroots coverage of the WTO protests in Seattle.

Information for Social Change, http://www.libr.org/ISC/
Activist organisation that examines issues of censorship, freedom and ethics amongst library and information workers.

In These Times, http://www.inthesetimes.com/
News, opinion, investigative reporting and cultural criticism with coverage of the labor movement, environment, feminism, grassroots politics, minority communities and the media.

Inter Press Service, http://www.ips.org/
From the IPS mission: acts "as a communication channel that privileges the voices and the concerns of the poorest and creates a climate of understanding, accountability and participation around development, promoting a new international information order between the South and the North."

Media Matters for America, http://www.mediamatters.org/
A "not-for-profit progressive research and information center dedicated to comprehensively monitoring, analyzing, and correcting conservative misinformation in the U.S. media."

Medialens, http://www.medialens.org/
"A UK-based media-watch project analysing mainstream media bias."

Moncton Free Press/Presse Libre de Moncton, http://www.monctonfreepress.ca/
Bilingual, community-run publication for the greater Moncton (New Brunswick) area. Aims to "present the voices which are too often absent or ignored in the traditional media" and to cover local, provincial, national and international news and issues.

Monthly Review, http://www.monthlyreview.org/
"An independent socialist magazine."

Mother Jones, http://www.mojones.com/
"A nonprofit news organization that specializes in investigative, political, and social justice reporting."

The Nation, http://www.thenation.com/
Critical discussions of social and political issues.

National Conference on Media Reform, http://www.freepress.net/conference/
Includes A-V downloads, links to blog and press coverage, and more. See also: Free Press (details above)

NB Media Co-op, http://nbmediacoop.org
Member-funder province-wide (New Brunswick) independent news website. Launched 3 August 2009.

New Internationalist, http://www.newint.org/
A communications co-operative reporting on issues of world poverty and inequality.

New Left Review, https://newleftreview.org/
NLR "analyses world politics, the global economy, state powers and protest movements; contemporary social theory, history and philosophy; cinema, literature, heterodox art and aesthetics."

New Pages: Alternatives in print and media, http://www.newpages.com/default.htm
A portal to independents news, "information and guides to literary magazines, independent publishers, creative writing programs, independent bookstores, alternative periodicals, independent record labels, alternative newsweeklies and more."

New Wark Times, https://warktimes.com/
"News from the Margins": Local news and views written and compiled by a retired journalist living in Sackville, NB.   

OpenMedia.ca, https://openmedia.ca/
OpenMedia.ca is a network of people and organizations "working to safeguard the possibilities of the open Internet."

Our Times, http://www.ourtimes.ca/
"Canada's Independent Labour Magazine"

The Progressive, http://www.progressive.org/
A monthly magazine of "investigative reporting, political commentary, cultural coverage, activism, interviews, poetry, and humor."

Progressive Librarian, http://www.libr.org/PL/
Articles, book reviews, bibliographies, reports and documents that explore progressive perspectives on librarianship and information issues.

Progressive Review, http://www.prorev.com/
First published in 1964 and "one of the oldest alternative journals in America."  Edited by Sam Smith. 

Project Censored, http://www.projectcensored.org/
"The news that didn't make the news." Explores censorship and publicizes un- or under-reported stories. Includes lists of links to independent news sources.

PR Watch (The Center for Media and Democracy), http://www.prwatch.org/
CMD is national, non-profit watchdog organization "investigating and exposing the undue influence of corporations and front groups on public policy, including PR campaigns, lobbying, and electioneering."

Rabble.ca, http://www.rabble.ca/
A registered not-for-profit organization publishing news, opinion, podcasts and more.

The Real News, http://therealnews.com
Viewer-supported and non-profit television news and documentary network providing independent journalism.

Social Responsibilities Round Table, http://libr.org/SRRT/
A unit of the American Library Association working to make ALA more democratic and to establish progressive priorities for the Association and the profession.

Straight Goods,  http://sgnews.ca/
Aims to be "Canada's independent, progressive media outlet of record."

THIS, http://this.org/
One of Canada’s longest-publishing alternative journals. Focuses on Canadian politics, pop culture and the arts.

The Tyee, http://www.thetyee.ca/
Independent B.C. daily offering news, views and investigative reporting. Focus is on British Columbia.

UTNE, http://www.utne.com/
A digest of independent ideas and alternative culture. 

Z Magazine, http://www.zcommunications.org/zmag
"Independent monthly magazine dedicated to resisting injustice, defending against repression, and creating liberty."


Conservative News and Media Analysis (section in progress)

Accuracy in Media, http://www.aim.org/
Aims to set "the record straight on important issues that have received slanted coverage". Includes links to conservative columnists, conservative organizations, news, think tanks, and more.

The American Spectator, http://www.spectator.org/

CNSNews. com, http://www.cnsnews.com/
"The right news. Right now." A division of the Media Research Centre (see below).

The Media Research Centre, http://www.mrc.org/
MRC's mission is "to bring balance and responsibility to the news media." Includes links to organizations that "help expose or counter liberal media bias in the mainstream press."

National Review, http://www.nationalreview.com/

The Patriot Post, http://patriotpost.us/
"The Internet's Journal of Record for the conservative revolution."

Suppressed News, http://suppressednews.com/

Town Hall, http://townhall.com/
Self-described as "the #1 conservative website," Town Hall "is designed to amplify those conservative voices in America’s political debates."

The Weekly Standard, http://www.weeklystandard.com/

Looking for independent Canadian media?

There are many Canadian resources included in the list on this page, and many more at independentmedia.ca, a directoy of non-corporate journalism created by the Media Alliance for New Activism (MANA is currently without funding and is not updating the directory).