Skip to main content
Mount Allison University Libraries | Music Library
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniveristyMount Allison University ArchivesImage Map

University Archives: Theses

Information about how to conduct research at the Mount Allison University Archives

Theses

The Honours and Masters theses collection at the Archives represents the academic achievements of generations of Allisonians.  Each academic year the Office of Academic Deans circulates guidelines and regulations for the preparation, reproduction and submission of Honours and Masters theses.  The theses are received on an annual basis once graded and approved by the departments overseeing the work.

Presently, two copies of most theses are received by the Mount Allison University Libraries and Archives each spring.  One copy goes into the open stacks of the Ralph Pickard Bell Library and the other copy comes to the Archives as a preservation copy. All theses are searchable in the online catalogue. Researchers should be aware that students have the right to restrict access to their thesis for up to three years from the date of completion.  If the thesis is restricted the researcher will have to consult with the University Archivist  to determine if it is possible to view the thesis.

Researchers should also note that many of the theses produced prior to 1980 have not been catalogued so they should consult the card catalogue on the main floor of the Ralph Pickard Bell Library or speak with the University Archivist to locate a copy.

Archival Databases

You can search descriptions of the Archives' holdings and photographs from the Picture Collection and related fonds / collections by using our Descriptions Database.

The Chignecto Isthmus Database provides access to historical material on the people and places of the Tantramar region help by the Ralph Pickard Bell Library.

Questions? Ask the University Archivist.

David Mawhinney's picture
David Mawhinney
Contact:
Room 306
Ralph Pickard Bell Library
49 York Street
Sackville, NB E4L 1C6
506-364-2563