Skip to main content
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

Spanish Subject Guide: Find Articles

A guide to key databases, reference & web sources, and research & citation guides for Spanish

Key Databases for Spanish

Searching for Articles: Tips!

To search for critical articles (artículos críticos) published in scholarly journals, you'll need to use a Journal Index or Database.

Each field of study has its own specialized indexes and databases.

For Spanish studies, go to:

Be sure to also try multi-disciplinary resources as well:

Search Tips:

Some of the items you find in these databases will be accessible electronically; others may be available in print in the library. Others still may not be available at the Mt.A Libraries but may be requested via interlibrary loan.

When the full text of an article isn't immediately available in an index/database, searching for articles is a two-step process:

Once you've performed your searches and have a list of items you'd like to find (that's step 1), the next step is to look up the source in the library catalogue (step 2). For articles, this means looking up the title of the journal or magazine in which the article was published. For book chapters, it means looking up the title of the book.

Example: to find out if we have this article in the library:

Peña, Karen. "Violence and Difference in Gabriela Mistral's Short Stories (1904-1911)." Latin American Research Review 40.3 (2005): 68-96.

Look up the title of the journal,Latin American Research Review, in the Library Catalogue. There you will find out if we have the journal in print in the library and whether the journal is accessible electronically. You can also use Journal Finder to search for journals accessible in digital format in library databases.

For more details, see: How do I search for articles?

Journal Finder

Already got a citation for an article and you want to find it at the library? 

Use Journal Finder to search for the title of the journal, magazine or newspaper.

Journal Finder will direct you to the database in which a journal is available in digital format.