Skip to main content
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

Geography & Environmental Studies: Reference Sources

On This Page:


A select list of dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases and other reference sources available in the R.P. Bell Library. All of the items listed as "REF" can be found on the main floor of the library.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Atlases & Maps

Country Information

Handbooks, Guides & Directories

Finding Aids

Selected Reference Sources for Geography & Environmental Studies

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias:

Geography:

Companion Encyclopedia of Geography: From Local to Global. G 116 .C66 2007 (2 vols) Ref.

Dictionary of Human Geography. GF 4 .D52 2009 Ref.

Dictionary of Physical Geography. GB 10 .D53 2000 Ref.

Encyclopedia of Geography. G 63 .E554 2010 (6 vols) Ref.

History of Cartography. GA 201 .H53 1987 (multiple volumes) Oversize Books

Key Concepts in Urban Studies. HT 109 .G68 2005 Ref.

Oxford Dictionary of Geography. G 63 .M39 2009 Ref.

Environmental Studies:

Dictionary of Environment and Conservation. GE 10 .P375 2007 Ref.

Encyclopedia of Biodiversity. QH 541.15 .B56 R53 2012 Ref.

Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather. QC 854 .E523 2011 (3 vols) Ref.

Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues. GE 10 .E52 2011 (4 vols.) Ref.

Encyclopedia of Geomorphology. GB 400.3 .E53 2004 (2 vols) Ref.

Encyclopedia of World Environmental History. GE 10 .E63 2004 (3 vols) Ref.

Green Ethics & Philosophy: An A-Z Guide. GE 42 .G735 2011 Ref.

 

Atlases & Maps

General world, regional and national atlases are in the "G" section in Reference. Other, more specialized atlases can be found with other reference books on the same topic:

Atlas of Bird Migration. QL 698.9 .A88 2007 Ref.

Atlas of Gender & Development. HQ 1237.5 .D44 A85 2010 Ref.

Atlas of Global Development. G 1046 .G1 A85 2009 Ref. (Updated online at:  http://data.worldbank.org/products/atlas )

Atlas of Urban Expansion. G 1028 .A5 2012 Ref.

Penguin State of the World Atlas. G 1021 .S56 2012 Ref.

World Atlas of Desertification. CA8 UN 97W51 Government Publications. Basement

A collection of historical and government maps is located in map cabinets in the basement of the library. They include land grant maps, topographical, hydrographic, and assorted other maps. See the printed Guide to Maps at the cabinets.

See also Recommended Websites and Government Information -- Canada -- Maps & Geospatial Data.

 

Country Information:

Encyclopedia of World Geography. G 133 .E48 2001 (24 vols) Ref.
- includes country profiles, and regional profiles describing the physical geography, habitats, animal and plant life.

GEO-DATA: The World Geographical Encyclopedia. G 103.5 .G36 2003 Ref.

State of the World: A Worldwatch Institute Report on Progress Toward a Sustainable Society . By  Worldwatch Institute.   Annual. 1984-to present. HC 59 .S73 Book Stacks

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations. 13th ed. (5 vols) 2012 (Gale Virtual Reference Library) Access online through the library catalogue. - includes brief overview of geography, environmental issues, demography, etc. for 194 countries.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of U.S. and Canadian Environmental Issues. GE 197 .W67 2012 Ref. - a brief snapshot of environmental issues in each state and province.

See also encyclopedias for specific countries or regions ("D-F" call numbers in Ref.) 

and Online Reference: Countries, Cities & Maps.

 

Handbooks, Guides & Directories:

Canadian Environmental Resource Guide. TD 169.6 .C36 (2 vols) Ref. Available online: Canada's Information Resource Centre
- A directory of environmental products and services, with related statistics, abbreviations, events, maps, government contacts, grants, tradeshows, short biographies of Canadian environmentalists, and more.

Environmental Leadership: A Reference Handbook. GE 300 .E5655 2012 (2 vols) Ref.
- Covers key approaches and challenges in environmental leadership

Key Methods in Geography. G 74 .K429 2010 Book Stacks
- An introduction to research methods used in human and physical geography.

Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials. T 55.3 .H3 S33 2004 (3 vols) Ref.

Treatise on Geomorphology. 14 volumes. 2013. Online via Library catalogue and ScienceDirect.
- The most comprehensive, critically reviewed reference work on all aspects of geomorphology.

 

Finding Aids:

Geographical Abstracts. Z 6003 .G4 – G455 Ref. (1966-1988: Geomorphology, landforms & the quaternary, Biogeography, climatology, and hydrology, Economic geography, Social geography, Sedimentology, Regional and community planning, Remote sensing.)  1989-1997: Human Geography

Political Geography: A Comprehensive Systematic Bibliography. Z 6004 .P7 S85 1996 Ref.

 

See also Recommended Websites and  Geography & Environmental Studies Databases.