Skip to main content
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

History Subject Guide: Asia

A guide to key databases, reference & web sources, and research & citation guides for History

History: Asia

Asia Source
A resource of the Asia Society, this site provides a comprehensive sources for news and resources on Asian culture, business, politics, and history, from breaking news stories to articles and speeches on a wide variety of topics (most are off site) to maps and statistics to special Asia Society features.  Other resources include an event calendar, a glossary, related links, and a database of Asian specialists.

Asia Times Online
The site's front page features top stories from Asia Times journalists as well as from other online dailies and reports, including the South China Morning Post, Business Times Online, and the Australian Financial Review.  The site offers separate sections for China, Southeast Asia, Japan, the Koreas, India/Pakistan, Central Asia, and Oceania as well as departments devoted to Business Briefs, Global Economy, and Media and Industrial Technology.  The entire site, including archives, is searchable.

BBC News : Asia-Pacific
This site provides not only up-to-date news about the Asia-Pacific Region, it also has a drop down menu of countries and territiories of the region, leading to profiles which include a brief history, basic facts, and information on leaders and local media.

Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library
Provides an authoritative, large-scale, subject-oriented scholarly guide to resources in Asian Studies.  As such, it functions as a research and access tool for Asian societies, politics, economies, histories, and cultures.

Internet Modern History Sourcebook: Asia Since 1900
(Fordham University.) Provides links to websites and to the text of articles on modern Asia.

Pacific Studies WWW Virtual Library
This directory provides links to a wide assortment of Web sites, bibliographies, and discussion listes related to the Pacific Islands, and to a lesser extent, the larger Asia-Pacific region.

South Asia Analysis Group
The objective of SAAG is "to advance strategic analysis and contribute to the expansion of knowledge of India and international security."  The site offers, in the form of short papers, the combined wisdom of "retired officers of the Government of India, with nearly three decades of experience in dealing with foreign policy & national security issues."