Skip to main content
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

Linguistics Subject Guide: Reference Sources

On This Page:

A select list of dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases and other reference sources available in the R.P. Bell Library. All of the items listed as "REF" can be found on the main floor of the library.

Selected Reference Sources for Linguistics

Definitions and Concepts

A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics. P 29 .C65 2003 REF.

Concise Encyclopedia of Philosophy of Language. P 106 .c5946 REF.

Concise Encyclopedia of Sociolinguistics. P 40 .C564 2001 REF.

Encyclopedia of Semiotics. P 99 .E64 REF.

Handbook of the International Phonetic Association: A Guide to the Use of the International Phonetic Alphabet. P 227 .I52 REF.

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics. (4 vols.) P 29 .I58 2003 REF.

Phonetic Symbol Guide. P 226 .P85 REF.


Atlases and Maps

Atlas of Languages: The Origin and Development of Languages Throughout the World. P 106 .A85 REF.

Atlas of the World's Languages. G1046 .E3 A8 2007 REF.

Atlas of the World's Languages in Danger. G 1046 .E3 A85 2010 REF.

Atlas of North American English: Phonetics, Phonology and Sound Change, A Multimedia Reference Tool. PE 2808 .L26 2006 REF.DESK

Linguistic Atlas of the Atlantic Provinces and Quebec. PE 3245 .A8 L56 1993 (7 vols) Bell Room

World Atlas of Language Structures. G 3201 .E3 W67 2005 REF.


Languages and Writing Systems

Cambridge Encyclopedia of the World's Ancient Languages. P 371 .C357 REF.

Compendium of the World's Languages. (2 vols.) P 371 .C36 REF.

Encyclopedia of the World's Endangered Languages. P 40.5 .L33 E53 2007 REF.

Facts About the World's Languages. P 371 .F33 REF.

Manual of Foreign Languages. P 37.3 .M36 REF.

The World's Writing Systems. P 211 .W714 REF.


Nonverbal Communication

American Sign Langugage: A Comprehensive Dictionary. HV 2475 .S77 REF.

Canadian Dictionary of ASL. HV 2475 .C36 2002 REF.

Dictionnaire des gestes. P 117 .C373 2005 REF.

Nonverbal Communication: A Research Guide and Bibliography. P 99.5 .K4 REF.