Skip to main content
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

Services and Facilities: Linking to Licensed Library Material from Moodle & Course Web Pages

Linking to Licensed Library Material from Moodle and Course Web Pages

This page provides information on creating links to licensed library resources from your Moodle and course web pages.

Creating a link to an item with a stable or persistent URL

Many library databases provide a stable or persistent URL that permits quick and easy subsequent access to an article or e-book (URLs displayed in the URL field of your browser may not work for subsequent access to content in library databases).

When creating a link to licensed library resources, look for the stable or persistent URL (available in databases such as JSTOR, ProQuest, Project Muse, EBSCO, Oxford, Springer, Wiley and our two e-book collections, Ebrary and MyiLibrary). Note that the terminology used for stable or persistent URLs varies from one database to another (EBSCO calls them "permalinks," for example).  

Next, to ensure that students can access licensed material from on and off campus, append the stable URL to the following library URL: "http://libproxy.mta.ca/login?url="

Example of a link to an e-book from ebrary:
"http://libproxy.mta.ca/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/mta/Doc?id=10230607"

Example of a link to an article from Proquest:
"http://libproxy.mta.ca/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?did=2245053001&sid=1&Fmt=3&clientId=13370&RQT=309&VName=PQD"

Creating a link to a document on the open Web does not generally require a persistent URL or use of the library "libproxy" URL. For example, links to online government publications found in the library catalogue can usually be copied and re-used for subsequent access.

Creating a link to an item with a DOI (digital object identifier)

If no stable URL is available, you can create a link using the DOI (the permanent “digital object identifier”) available for some articles. 

Look for the DOI on the first page of the article or document (e.g. doi:10.1177/1748048509104977).  The DOI may also be indicated along with other bibliographic details in the database providing access to the article.

Next, append the DOI to the following URL:
"http://libproxy.mta.ca/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/"

Example of a link to an article with a DOI:
"http://libproxy.mta.ca/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1177/0047287509346843"

No Stable URL or DOI?

If the article or document you wish to link to has no stable URL or DOI, making a pdf copy of the article may be permitted under the database license agreement.  

For more information please contact Anne LePage, the librarian responsible for electronic resources

Students may also be given full citations for electronic journal articles or e-books in the Mount Allison University Libraries’ collections.  For access to e-books, students should be directed to search the Library Catalogue. To find articles in any of the online databases subscribed to by the libraries, students should be directed to search the Journal Finder.

For assistance with accessing articles and e-books please contact your Subject Librarian or the Research Help Desk.

For assistance with Moodle, please contact Educational Technology Consultant, Toni Roberts.