Skip to main content
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

Sociology Subject Guide: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

A guide to key databases, reference & web sources, and research & citation guides for Sociology

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias -- Sociology

The following titles are available in print on the main floor or the R.P. Bell Library:

Abercrombie, Nicholas. The Penguin Dictionary of Sociology. London: Penguin, c2006. HM 17 .A24 2006 REF

Bryant, Clifton D., and Dennis L. Peck. 21st Century Sociology: A Reference Handbook. 2 vols. Thousand Oaks: Sage, c2007. HM 585 .A13 2007

Buchanan, Ian. A Dictionary of Critical Theory. Oxford: Oxford UP, 2010. B 809.3 .B83 2010 REF

Chapman, Roger, eds. Culture Wars: An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and Voices. Armonk: M.E. Sharpe, 2010. 2 vols. HM 1121 .C85 2010 REF

Gottdiener, Mark, and Leslie Budd, eds. Key Concepts in Urban Studies. London: SAGE Publications, 2005. HT 109 .G68 2005 REF

Kontos, Louis, and Dvid C. Brotherton, eds. Encyclopedia of Gangs. Westport: Greenwood Press, c2008. HV 6439 .U5 E53 2008

Lavrakas, Paul J., ed. Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods. 2 vols. Thousand Oaks: SAGE Publications, 2008. HN 29 .E53 2008 REF

Misiroglu, Gina Renée, ed. American Countercultures: An Encyclopedia of Nonconformists, Alternative Lifestyles, and Radical Ideas in U.S. History. 3 vols. Armonk: Sharpe Reference, 2009. HM 647 .A44 2009 REF

Parrillo, Vincent N., ed. Encyclopedia of Social Problems. 2 vols. Los Angeles: SAGE Publications, 2008. HN 28 .E55 2008 REF

Pitts-Taylor, Victoria, ed. Cultural Encyclopedia of the Body. 2 vols. Westport: Greenwood Press, 2008. HM 636 .C85 2008 REF

Ritzer, George, ed. The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology. 11 vols. Malden: Blackwell Pub., c2007. HM 425 .B53 2007 REF

Ritzer, George, ed. Encyclopedia of Social Theory. 2 vols. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, c2005. HM 425 .E47 2005 REF

Scott, John and Gordon Marshall, eds. A Dictionary of Sociology. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005. HM 17 .D5735 2005 REF

Turner, Bryan S. The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology. Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 2006. HM 425 .C36 2006