Skip to main content
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

Sociology Subject Guide: Web Sources

A guide to key databases, reference & web sources, and research & citation guides for Sociology

Web Sources -- Sociology

Ad*Access
An image database of over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.  Covers 5 categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation and World War II. From Duke University's Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising and Marketing History.

American Sociological Association
The ASA is the national (U.S.) organization for sociologists "dedicated to advancing sociology as a scientific discipline and profession serving the public good." The site includes links to research on the sociological discipline and profession, teaching and learning resources, and career and funding resources.

Canadian Social Research Links
The site, created and maintained by Gilles Séguin, looks outdated and can be difficult to navigate, but it is still being updated and includes links to resources on a number of topics that could be of interest to sociologists. Mr. Séguin clearly states his intent and biases on the about this site page.

Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920 (EAA)
Contains over 3,300 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920. From Duke's Hartman Center, like Ad*Access above.

Intute: Sociology
Closed since July 2011, Intute was a consortium created by seven UK universities. Although the site is no longer being updated, it still provides a well-organized and annotated array of links on a variety of topics.

MediaSmarts
Formerly known as Media Awareness Network, MediaSmarts is "a Canadian not-for-profit charitable organization for digital and media literacy."

Migration Information Source
This site, a project of the Migration Policy Institute, an "independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank in Washington, DC," offers tools, vital data, and factual information on the movement of people worldwide.

Pew Research Center for the People & the Press
One of seven projects making up the Pew Research Centre. Studies attitudes toward politics, the press and public policy issues.

Pew Research Center's Project for Excellence in Journalism
One of seven projects making up the Pew Research Centre. Uses empirical methods to evaluate and study the performance of the press, particularly content analysis. Includes the State of the News Media Annual Report on American Journalism.

Pew Social & Demographic Trends
The Pew Social & Demographic Trends project is one of seven projects making up the Pew Research Centre. This project provides results of studies examining behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key realms of their lives, including family, community, health, finance, work and leisure. Combines original public opinion survey research with social, economic and demographic data analysis.

Sociological Theory Websites
A collection of links to websites on social theory and individual sociologists created by Mount Allison Sociology Professor (now retired) Berkeley Fleming. Last updated in 2009.

A Sociological Tour Through Cyberspace
First launched in 1996, this site looks very dated but still claims that "additions and updates are made daily." Links to sociological resources on a variety topics.

SocioSite
Based at the faculty of Social Sciences at the University of Amsterdam, this site aims "to provide a comprehensive listing of all sociology resources on the Internet."

Understanding the World Today
Another site with dated web design... Understanding the World Today examines the ways societies changes over time and provides links to resources on social, economic and political aspects of society. Created by Gene Shackman, Ph.D. in Sociology.

Questions? Ask a librarian.

Laura Landon's picture
Laura Landon
Contact:
R.P. Bell Library
49 York St.,
Sackville, NB E4L 1C6
506-364-3569
Social:Twitter Page