Interlibrary Loans: Getting Started

Request an      Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL):

ILL is a free service that will facilitate getting another library to supply a copy or the loan of items not available at MtA Libraries 

 Novanet Express:

• Technically an interlibrary loan, but on resources held by Novanet partner libraries
  • Request directly by placing holds while searching in Novanet 
  • See Novanet Express for more information and how tos

Finding Resources

ILL requests can be placed for items found many places, such as searching other library catalogues or Google Scholar, or by getting citations from other published resources references, works cited, or a bibliographies.

• How to place an ILL request from known citations

Compare NE, ILL, and Reciprocal Borrowing at a glance 

Other Library Catalogues 

Multi-Library Worldwide Catalogue

Search a database of the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries worldwide:

• Worldcat: simplified single search box with an advanced search option
• MtA Worldcat Discovery: search MtA resources or expand to libraries worldwide. MtA doesn't have it? Place an interlibrary loan request using the link under 'Access Options'   
• FirstSearch: MtA login required, offers advanced or more precise searching of Worldcat

Center for Research Libraries (CRL)

MtA users have access to CRL's wealth of newspapers, journals, dissertations, and digital resources, as well as primary sources and other research materials.

• Search directly via: http://catalog.crl.edu/ 
• Request copies and loans of CRL materials using Interlibrary Loan

Atlantic Canada

• Novanet: MtA Libraries and Nova Scotia post secondary libraries shared catalogue
  • see full list of members
• University of New Brunswick
• Université de Moncton
• Memorial University  
• New Brunswick Public Libraries

Canada

• RACER: Ontario universities’ tool for searching collections of research libraries’ catalogues simultaneously
• Voilà: Canada’s National Union Catalogue (holdings at Library and Archives Canada and libraries across Canada
• Aurora: Library and Archives Canada’s catalogue
• Federal Science Library
• NEOS: Shared catalogue for the central Alberta library consortium

International

• Worldcat -> Simplified search of a database of the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries worldwide (advanced search option)
• MtA Worldcat -> search MtA resources or expand to libraries worldwide. MtA doesn't have it? Place an interlibrary loan request using the link under 'Access Options'   
• FirstSearch -> MtA login required, offers advanced or more precise searching of Worldcat
• Library of Congress
• The European Library -> Access the collections of National and leading Research Libraries of Europe
• Browse Online Libraries Worldwide -> List of Public, National, Academic, School, & Special Libraries by region 

Theses & Dissertations (Some Open Access)

• Canada Theses Portal
• DART-Europe E-theses Portal
• EBSCO Open Dissertations
• Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
• Open Access Theses and Dissertations

Digital (Some Open Access)

• Canadiana 
• Internet Archive
• Digital Public Library of America
• World Digital Library

Library Databases:

• Use your MtA username & password (same as Connect and your email)

Library Account & Novanet

• Use your MtA email address & same password as for Connect and your email

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

• Login = MtA ID #
• Password = 4 digit PIN

Don't know your ID or PIN? Have questions? Email nbsam@mta.ca