Skip to main content
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

Economics Subject Guide: Reference Sources

On This Page:

A select list of guides, dictionaries, encyclopedias, statistical compilations and other reference sources available in the R. P. Bell Library. All of the items listed as "REF" can be found on the main floor of the library.

Selected Reference Sources for Economics

Definitions & Concepts

Canadian Dictionary of Business and Economics. HC 112 .C73 REF

Dictionary of Econometrics. HB 139 .D358 REF

Dictionary of Environmental Economics. HC 79 .E5 D53 REF

Encyclopedia of American Economic History. (3 vols.) HC 103 .E52 REF

Encyclopedia of Keynsian Economics. HB 99.7 .E528 REF

Lexicon of Economic Thought. HB 61 .W34 REF

MIT Encyclopedia of the Japanese Economy. HC 462.9 .H73 REF

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics. (4 vols.) HB 61 .N49 REF
- The most comprehensive reference book on economics, with over 2,000 entries on all aspects of economics.

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law. (3 vols.) K 487 .E3 N49 REF

Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History. (5 vols.) HC 15 .O94 REF
- Covers the economic development and history of most countries and regions and major industries as well as many other topics in economic history.

Reader's Guide to the Social Sciences. (2 vols.) H 41 .R417 REF
- Short entries explain concepts and their importance in the field. See "Economics" in thematic list of contents in vol.1, and detailed subject index in vol.2.

The Routledge Critical Dictionary of Global Economics. HB 61 .R68 REF


Atlases & Maps

Atlas of Global Development. G 1046 .G1 A85 2nd ed. 2009 REF

Atlas of World Development. G 1046 .E1 U5 REF
- A section of this atlas covers the economic structure of development.

World Bank Atlas. CA6 WB 2000W51 Gov. Docs
- Presents key statistics from the World Development Indicators by the World Bank, in table and map form.

Historical Atlas of Canada. (3 vols.) vol.1: to 1800, vol.2: 19th century, vol.3: 1891-1961. G 1116 .S1 H58 REF DESK

See also other general atlases and those for particular regions; many contain economic maps.


Biographies

A Biographical Dictionary of Women Economists. HB 76 .B535 REF

Great Economists Before Keynes. HB 76 .B54 REF

Great Economists Since Keynes. HB 76 .B62 REF

Who's Who in Economics. HB 76 .W47 REF


Guides to Finding & Understanding Economic Statistics

International Financial Statistics Locator. HG 151.7 .B37 REF
- For each economic statistic listed, this book indicates which of 22 common sources contains the data.

Guide to Economic Indicators: Making Sense of Economics. HA 29 .E25 REF
- Explains how to interpret the 100 most often used economic indicators.

Handbook of United States Economic and Financial Indicators. HC 106.8 .O47 REF
- Contains brief descriptions of 284 indicators, how they are calculated and applied, and a list of sources for more information on each indicator.


Canadian Economic Statistics

Canadian Economic Observer. and Statistical Summary. CA1 BS11 .C010 Gov. Docs
- The Economic Observer is a Statistics Canada monthly flagship publication providing statistics and analysis: summary of current economic indicators, sector analyses, economic highlights in Canada and the world, and feature articles on a major issue or industry sector. The Summary has tables of over 1,000 federal, provincial and some international economic indicators (current and last 5 years). NOTE: Discontinued summer 2012. See Statistics Canada web site. Data available in CANSIM. Articles in "Economic Insights" series.

Bank of Canada Banking and Financial Statistics. CA1 FN74 .B18S Gov. Docs
- This monthly statistical supplement to the Bank of Canada Quarterly Review has many tables of financial and economic indicators (banks, financial markets, government of Canada, exchange and reserves, balance of payments, trade, etc.)

The Economy in Brief: The Quarterly Economic Review of the Department of Finance. CA1 FN E11 Gov. Docs (Also available online at http://www.fin.gc.ca)
- Provides a brief overview of the main economic indicators for each quarter.

For Industry-specific statistics see "Competitive Analysis" links on the Marketing Hits website.


International Statistics

Balance of Payments Statistics Yearbook. HG 3882 .B34 Journal Stacks. Latest in REF and ONLINE
- Annual IMF publication in 3 parts showing balance of payments and international investment position in tables by country, region and the world.

Direction of Trade Statistics Yearbook. HF 91 D5 Latest in REF and ONLINE
- By the IMF, this annual provides import and export data between over 100 countries and regions for the last 7 years. Tables are by country.

Europa World Year Book. D2 .E89 Latest in REF
- Annual publication with essays on the economic conditions in each country and statistics compiled from major sources.

Eurostat Yearbook: A Statistical Eye on Europe. HA 1107 .E89 REF
- By Eurostat, the official statistical office of the European Communities, this book & CD-ROM include statistics and summaries of the national economies of European Union countries, each volume covering 10 years.

Global Competitiveness Report. HF 1414 .G559 REF
- By Global Economic Forum, this report includes global and regional analyses, articles on special topics, and country profiles. Profiles include key economic indicators, GDP change from 1970, leading export sectors, and competitiveness rankings.

Government Finance Statistics Yearbook. HJ 101 .G68 Latest in REF and ONLINE
- Provides fiscal data (expenses, revenue, assets and liabilities, etc.) for the government sector, by country.

Industrial Commodity Statistics Yearbook. HC 10 .I59 REF
- U.N. annual compilation of statistics on the production of commodities by country, region, economic grouping and the world.

International Financial Statistics Yearbook. HG 61 .I57 Latest in REF and ONLINE
- The IMF's main statistical publication. For each country it includes exchange rates, interest rates, GNP, prices and production statistics, labour, balance of payments, volume of exports/imports, foreign debt, etc. (See Country Notes supplement for sources and footnotes. HG 61 .I572 REF.)

International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-1988. HA 4675 .M55 REF
- Includes data on agriculture, industry, labour, trade, finance, prices, national accounts, etc.

International Historical Statistics: Europe, 1750-2000. HA 1107 .M55 REF
- Includes data on agriculture, industry, labour, trade, finance, prices, national accounts, etc.

International Trade Statistics Yearbook. HF 91 .U473 REF (2 vols.)
- By the United Nations, volume 1 has trade statistics by country, volume 2 has statistics by commodity.

Key Indicators of Developing Asian and Pacific Countries. HC 411 .A754 REF
- Provides basic economic statistics by country and region.

OECD Economic Surveys. (Various call numbers, Book Stacks)
- Each of these periodic reports provide economic statistics and analysis for one of the OECD member countries. (Search the library catalogue: Title search: OECD Economic Surveys. Updated online in ProQuest.)

OECD Factbook. HC 10 .O34 REF (& online)
- A compilation of a hundred social and economic indicators for OECD countries and regions.

The World Economy: Historical Statistics. HC 21 .M338 REF
- Provides population and per capita GDP estimates since the 1800's.


Development Statistics

African Development Indicators. HC 800 .A1 A467 REF
- Has over 500 macroeconomic, sectoral and social statistics for 53 African countries.

Trade & Development Report. JX 1977 .A39 T7 Latest in REF
- An UNCTAD (United Nations Conference on Trade and Development) report with statistical tables and analysis of issues on developing countries in world trade.

World Development Indicators. HC 59.15 .W656 Latest in REF. Also available online.
- An annual publication by the World Bank. Presents detailed economic and social statistics showing the progress being made toward international development goals.

World Development Report. HC 59.7 .W659 Book Stacks. Also available online.
- Each annual report has a different focus, with articles on a specific theme in development, written by a team of experts from the World Bank and incorporating selected statistics from World Development Indicators.