Skip to main content
Banner image for Mount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesBanner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

Music Library: Home

Welcome to the Alfred Whitehead Music Library!

COVID-19

Mount Allison Libraries & Archives, including the Music Library, are closed. For the most recent updates, visit https://libraryguides.mta.ca/COVID-19_library_services.

For a list of new e-resources, visit https://libraryguides.mta.ca/COVID-19_library_services/new_content.

The Ask a Librarian chat is available from 9 AM-5 PM, Monday-Thursday, and 12 PM-4 PM on Fridays. You can access the chat by clicking on the speech balloon below on the right of the page.

Any questions can be sent to music@mta.ca.

Winter Term Hours

As of March 18, 2020, the Music Library is closed because of the COVID-19 situation. For questions about access to resources, please e-mail music@mta.ca


If you have a research question, you can visit the Music Library during open hours. You can also call the Music Librarian at (506) 364-2214, email at sbartlett@mta.ca, or contact the Research Help Desk at infodesk@mta.ca

Loading ...

Alfred Whitehead Music Library

Located on the lower floor of the Marjorie Bell Young Conservatory of Music (near the Swan Pond), our collections and services include:

  • Printed music (scores, chamber music parts, sheet music)
  • Books and journals about music
  • Sound recordings (CDs, LPs, cassettes)
  • Video recordings (DVD, VHS)
  • An extensive music reference collection 
  • Sound and viewing equipment
  • Public computers and study tables
  • Friendly staff to answer your questions and help you find what you need

Contact the Music Library

Phone:  506 364-2561; Music Librarian: 506 364-2214

Email:  musiclibrary@mta.ca

Find us:  Lower floor, Marjorie Bell Young Conservatory of Music, 134 Main Street Sackville, New Brunswick

New & Notable Music Books

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Employment Opportunities

Part-time Student Positions

For questions about employment in the Music Library, please contact:

Music Librarian

musiclibrary@mta.ca | 364-2561

For questions about employment in the R.P. Bell Library (Main Library), please contact:

Laura Landon, head of Access Services

llandon@mta.ca | 364-3569

Novanet LogoNovanet: Start your research here.

Quick search for books, ebooks, articles, movies, music & more.

Looking for a specific musical work? 
Tip: Search using composer name and title words.  Example: mozart AND nozze (with AND in upper case).  
 


Novanet Advanced Search

Novanet searches many but not all library databases (details). Databases not included in Novanet can be accessed from the A-Z List of databases.

Help: Which Search Tool Should I Use? | Novanet Search Tips

Novanet LogoNovanet: Start your research here.

Quick search only for books.
 


Novanet Advanced Search

Searching for a particular book by title or author?  Try Browse searching. 

Switch to: Novanet Classic (aka the Library Catalogue)

Help: Which Search Tool Should I Use? | Novanet Search Tips

Novanet LogoNovanet: Start your research here.

Quick search only for articles.
 


Novanet Advanced Search

Novanet searches most but not all library databases (details). Databases not included in Novanet can be accessed from the A-Z List of databases.

Help: Which Search Tool Should I Use? | Novanet Search Tips

Loading ...