Skip to main content
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

German Subject Guide: Find Articles

A guide to key databases, reference & web sources, and research & citation guides for German

Key Databases for German Language, Literature & FIlm

See also "Recommended Websites" tab, for more Electronic Journals, Magazines, News, etc.

Print Indexes


Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literatur-Wissenschaft. (Annual) Z 2231 .B58 Ref.
- Covers books, essays and articles published each year
- Table of Contents by time period, then in text by format, themes, then authors
- Has author/subject index.

Germanistik: Internationales Referatenorgan mit Bibliographischen Hinweisen. Z 2231 .A2 G37 Ref. Older issues in basement
- Lists articles, essays, theses and books
- Table of Contents by time periods; name and subject indexes.


Film Review Index. (v. 1. 1882-1949 -- v. 2. 1950-1985). Z 5784 .M9 F513 1986. Basement Ref. 

 

 

Journal Finder

Already got a citation for an article and you want to find it at the library? 

Use Journal Finder to search for the title of the journal, magazine or newspaper.

Journal Finder will direct you to the database in which a journal is available in digital format.

Article Database Search Tips

These general search tips can be used in most Article Databases:


Use AND to search for more than one keyword, e.g.Germany AND expressionism

Use OR to broaden searches, e.g. Expressionism AND (art OR music)

Use parentheses if using AND and OR in the same search

Use field searching (e.g. in Subject, Abstract, or Assigned Keywords) to increase relevance

Use double quotes for phrase searching

Use * (! in Lexis/Nexis) to truncate words to get all possible endings, e.g. femini* to get feminine, feminists, feminism, etc.

Change article sort to most recent, where appropriate;

Limit by type of source, where available;

Copy and paste citation information for each article saved or used and check for completeness.

 

Check the database Search Help file for more details.

Searching for Articles: Tips!

The following guides provide tips to help you search effectively for the information you need:

Additional guides designed to help you search for and evaluate information can be found on the Research Tips page.