Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide lists resources you may find useful for your POLS 1001 Foundations of Politics group project due Feb. 18, 2015.
This is by no means an exhaustive list, and you are encouraged to do catalogue searches, database searches and web searches to find additional sources.
Please refer to the regular pages within the Political Science guide for links to databases and citation guides, and to further Canadian politics links.
Getting Started: Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Education by
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2004-02-01
Explains the institutions, people, processes, roles, and philosophies in educational practice in the U.S. and throughout the world. Includes an entry on Canada that gives overview of Canadian educational system and a list of recommended readings. TIP: SEARCH BY KEYWORD AND/OR SEARCH INDEX
Encyclopedia of Government and Politics by
Call Number: JA 61 .C66 2004 Basement Reference
Publication Date: 2003-12-22
Provides an overview of political theory, political ideologies, and how political institutions (e.g., legislatures, bureaucracies) work.
Has a chapter on education policy with a list of references for further reading.
Encyclopedia of Higher Education by
Call Number: LB 15 .E49 1992 Basement Reference (4 vols.)
Publication Date: 1992-07-29
Vol. 1: National Systems of Higher Education (contains a 16-page entry on Canada that explains how higher education is structured in Canada)
Vol. 2: Analytical Perspectives on Higher Education and Society; Institutional Fabric of Higher Education System; Governance, Administration & Finance.
Vol. 3: Analytical Perspectives on teaching, learning & research and various academic disciplines
Vol. 4: Academic Disciplines
Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development by
Call Number: LB 15 .E473 2005 Basement Reference (3 vols.)
Publication Date: 2005-08-31
Encyclopedia of educational theory and practice. Vol. 3 contains a section called "People" that profiles leading thinkers and critics such as John Dewey and Ivan Illich. Also contains profiles of major educational organizations such as the International Society for Technology in Education.
Encyclopedia of Student and Youth Movements by
Call Number: LA 186 .B87 1998 Basement Reference
Publication Date: 1998-08-01
An A-to-Z compilation of international student and youth movements and organizations such as Students for a Democratic Society.
Link back to main Political Science Subject Guide: