The compiler, Arthur Smith, first encountered the literature of Will R Bird while an undergraduate at Mount Allison in the 1970s. After graduating from library school at the University of Alberta in 1980, he accepted a position at Acadia University and renewed his interest in Bird's writings by starting a bibliography of his works using the extensive periodical holdings of Acadia, the archives of Maritime Telephone and Telegraph Company, and the Bird papers at the Dalhousie University Archives. In 1983 he received an Atlantic Provinces Library Association Memorial Award to travel to Ottawa and Toronto to access Canadian periodical literature not found in the Maritimes.
The resulting bibliography was published in 3 parts in the APLA Bulletin in 1985. The bibliography was updated in 2002 and mounted on the website of the Royal Ontario Museum where the compiler is currently a librarian. When the ROM website was revised in 2005, it was decided to move the bibliography to a new home on the Mount Allison website, closer to the author's origins and geographic settings of Bird's stories of the Yorkshire settlers.
The website was migrated to the Mount Allison Libraries & Archives' Springshare platform in 2020. Every effort was made to reproduce as closely as possible the original content and layout.
Copyright Information:
The Bibliography is hosted and maintained by the Mount Allison University Libraries and Archives.
Permission to copy, reproduce or download any portion of this bibliography in any format must be obtained from:
University Librarian
Mount Allison University Libraries & Archives
49 York Street, Sackville NB
Canada, E4L 1C6
tel: 506-364-2562 | fax: 506-364-2617
This bibliography was not created by or on behalf of Mount Allison University. The responsibility for its content rests solely with the bibliography's creator.
The compiler of the Will R. Bird Bibliography, Arthur Smith, may be contacted by e-mail at: arthurs@rom.on.ca