Banner image for Mount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesBanner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
The Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database includes the renowned Aerospace Database and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
New
This database contains the leading agricultural journals published in North America. ProQuest Agriculture Journals offers the complete text as well as complete images from such journals as Agricultural Research, Forest Products Journal, Journal of Animal Science, Journal of Soil and Water Conservation and Plant Physiology.
Trial
Available until July 31, 2020
Ancestry Library Edition is a new genealogy research tool created for the library market and provides patrons instant access to a wide range of unique resources for genealogical and historical research. With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more! These collections are continuously expanding, with new content added every business day.
Trial
Available until July 31, 2020
Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection delivers, for the first time online, more than three hundred important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the nation’s premiere radio theatre company. The plays - which include some of the most significant dramatic literature of the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries - are performed by leading actors from around the world and recorded specifically for online listening.
Trial
Criterion Pictures has developed an on-line digital delivery feature film platform called Criterion-on-Demand. Their goal is to provide easy access to educationally relevant feature films used in Canadian Higher Education Institutions.
New
The Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database contains full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
New
This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishes and university presses. Gain Unlimited Access to 201,500 E-Books Across Many Subjects
New
New
The Environmental Science Database is a cross-disciplinary resource of full-text content of global literature across this field and related disciplines. It provides the most complete collection of resources available to support research and learning in environmental science and related fields. Content is selected from several specialist topic resources in disciplines such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology.
New
Global Breaking Newswires is a library news product which provides timely access to the best newswire content available globally as well as growing archive of news that may not be captured in any of the traditional print sources
Trial
Available until December 15, 2020
The HeinOnline Academic for Canada package contains more than 60 million pages of content across 35,000 titles and 110,000 volumes. HeinOnline bridges the gap in history by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,800 periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of journals, the database also contains Revised Statutes of Canada, Annual Statutes, Canada Supreme Court Reports, and current, historical, and revised content for the Provincial Statutes of Canada. International content includes historical and current constitutions from every country in the world, an impressive collection of world trials, and much more.
New
An international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
New
Materials science is an interdisciplinary database featuring scholarly articles written within the fields of science and engineering, including applied physics and chemistry, as well as chemical, mechanical, civil and electrical engineering.
Trial
"Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests In Print, produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, provides a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments.... [T]he MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within diverse areas. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s)."
Trial
Available until July 31, 2020
A series of four volumes with a mission to provide a reliable and authoritative source for scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works. The collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. With full, study, piano, and vocal scores, this comprehensive collection will enhance the study of music history, performance, composition and theory for a variety of scholars.
Trial
Available until August 31, 2020
Trial
Available until August 31, 2020
Trial
Available until August 31, 2020
"PsycTESTS®, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching. International in scope, PsycTESTS® also provides access to an increasing number of tests that are available in languages other than English. PsycTESTS® is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. While focused on contemporary instances of test use, coverage spans more than a century."
Trial
Available until August 31, 2020
New
Designed to complement other databases and collections, this database brings together or links to full text for publicly available scholarly content from a number of different sources from around the world. It includes content from major subject repositories such as arXiv as well as open access journals. Content includes journal articles, pre-prints, books, conference papers and reports.
New
Visit our “Coronavirus: Research, Commentary, and News” page to find the latest updates on what we know about the pandemic, the race for a cure, and the research and experts behind the headlines.
Trial
Available until July 31, 2020
Access more than 500 key textbooks across Springer Nature’s eBook subject collections for free. A list of titles across all disciplines can be found here: Free English Textbook Titles (All Disciplines)
Trial
Available until July 31, 2020
Find a front-row seat to some of the best live theatre straight from Broadway!
Trial
Available until July 31, 2020
National Theatre Collection brings the stage to life through access to high definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies.
Trial
Available until July 31, 2020
These high-definition, surround-sound recordings of William Shakespeare’s plays featuring the world’s best Shakespearean actors, like David Tennant, Sir Antony Sher, Paapa Essiedu, and Simon Russell Beale, and directors like Robin Lough and Dewi Humphrey.
Trial
Available until July 31, 2020
While the texts of plays can serve as lasting documents, the productions are ephemeral; a live performance is gone when the curtain falls. And yet the collaborative elements of theatre in performance—the work of the actors, directors, and designers—have tremendous scholarly and educational value long after a production closes.
Loading...

About Library Databases

Most databases included in the A-Z List of Databases are licensed for use by members of the Mount Allison University community.  The A-Z list also includes selected freely available (or open access) databases. 

Access & Troubleshooting

For information about on-campus and off-campus access, and for information about problems accessing a database, please see the Database Access & Troubleshooting guide:

Loading...
title
Loading...