Mount A Libraries: Geography &amp; Environmental Studies Subject Guide: GENV 2221 The Developing World

World Bank: Useful Pages

World Bank Development Indicators
World Bank Open Data
Search by Economy (country) or Indicator. The World Bank collects data from its member countries covering topics such as agriculture, aid, education, environment, energy and mining, health, economic policy, poverty, labour, science and technology, social and urban development. The Data Catalog provides access to thousands of indicators from World Bank data sets. Data on this web site are a subset of the Word Bank's Data Bank time series data.
World Bank
World Bank -- Search by Country
World Bank Gender and Development
Reports, data, and links to other information on the topic. From the World Bank.
World Bank Poverty & Inequality Platform

More Statistics and Grey Literature

The following links go to credible organizations and sites that provide statistics and "grey literature" -- reports, white papers, backgrounders, briefing notes etc.

International Governmental Organizations A-Z List
Northwest University Library's extensive alphabetical list of links to international governmental organizations. Includes multi-national and regional IGOs useful for understanding regional dynamics; organizations focusing on specific industries; and regional development banks, to gain a perspective on financial interests and dynamics beyond the West.
International Monetary Fund (IMF)
See Data and Publications tabs for financial statistics, country reports, and more.
CIA World Factbook
Ideal for quick, accurate stats & facts on various nations' governments, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues. Facts are from a variety of sources (not cited) deemed reliable by the CIA.
World Health Organization (WHO)
See Data tab.
Canadian Foreign Policy Institute
Non-profit group that monitors Canada's international aid, diplomatic, intelligence, trade, and military policies, as well as corporate activities.
Government Information Subject Guide
A Mount A Library collection of links to key sources of national and international government information. Use tabs across top to navigate.
International Relations Reference & Web Sources
A Mount A Library guide. Links to useful International Relations websites and a select list of other reference sources. Use the drop-down menus to navigate.

Trying to navigate a big website? Try a Google site search. Google will crawl the site for you and produce a list of hits containing your keywords.

Citing Data, Grey Literature & Websites (APA)

See the following APA web pages:

Data sets
Grey literature (e.g., reports by government, NGOs)
Webpage on a website (Note: Sometimes the APA format for "page from a website" or "document from a website" is the easiest way to cite grey literature. See also A Pocket Style Manual 9th ed. by Diana Hacker and Nancy Sommers, pp. 226-228, available at main library Citation Station)

♦ Finding Academic Literature ♦

Peer-reviewed Academic Articles & Books from Novanet

Scholarly books and articles can provide the background and evidence you need for your Debate assignment. Use Novanet and the databases to search for these sources. They provide curated sources and subscription content. They can generate citations (note: always double-check the citation generators).

Novanet crawls all databases for scholarly peer-reviewed articles. You will get different results in Novanet versus individual databases partly because of different search algorithms and relevancy rankings. Try both!

Novanet search tips:

Peer-Reviewed Articles & Journals from Databases

Search Novanet or individual databases for peer-reviewed literature on your topic.

Top databases for your subjects:

Taylor & Francis Online (SSH Collection)
Includes all Taylor & Francis Social Sciences and Humanities journals. Covers Arts and Humanities, Business and Management, Economics, Education and Social Sciences.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library features 1500 journals, over 14,000 Online Books, and hundreds of multi-volume reference works, databases, and other resources.

MTA has purchased journal content and only a limited amount of e-book content.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences. Current and recent volumes (last 2 to 5 years) not available for most titles.
Sage Journals Online
SAGE Journals Online provides online access to the full text of more than 560 SAGE journals. The SAGE Full-Text Collections, SAGE's discipline-specific research databases, are now integrated into SAGE Journals Online.
Project Muse (Standard Collection)
Full-text access to the Project Muse Standard Collection of peer-reviewed journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Also serves as an index to addtional Humanities and Social Sciences journals not included in the Standard Collection.

1963 - present (varies by title, emphasis on recent years).
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect contains peer-reviewed, full-text, scientific, technical, and medical content as well as journals in the social sciences and humanities.

TIP: Use an advanced search to focus on keywords in abstracts and article titles. In Taylor & Francis and Science Direct the advanced search screen may not be intuitive. See screen captures below.

In Taylor & Francis, see drop-down search options. Click the plus sign to add new search terms and vary options. (E.g., "Structural adjustment" in abstract AND India anywhere)

In Science Direct, the advanced search option is important, but it hides. Find it here:

United Nations: Reference & Web Sources

Yearbook of the United Nations
Yearly overview of UN concerns on economic, human rights, security matters and more.
United Nations Human Development Index
Key index measuring life expectancy, education and income.
United Nations Human Development Goals
The 17 development goals adopted by all UN Member States in 2015, as part of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.
United Nations
Official site of the UN. Use the site index (link located in bottom toolbar) for an overview of the massive amount of information available through this site.
UN Documents
Nicely organized access to the publications of the bodies within the United Nations system: General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, Secretariat, International Court of Justice and the Trusteeship Council. Many other resources are also accessible from the top toolbar, including maps & geographic information.

United Nations Research Guides
(Dag Hammarskjold Library, United Nations) Provides helpful information on how to understand UN document symbols, reports, resolutions & decisions, and more. Has guides and links to UN information on key topics including disarmament, the environment, peacekeeping, and international law.
United Nations Member States on the Record
Access to official documents reflecting views of United Nations Member States.

In-class exercise

Instructions: Break into groups or work independently to fill out the attached Indicators exercise on Thailand. This exercise is similar to your Indicators Analysis 1 assignment, and will show you how to get data to complete that assignment.

Paper copies of this exercise are available for those who prefer paper.

In-Class Indicators Exercise -- Thailand

SURVEY:

At the end of the class, please take a 2-minute survey about the effectiveness of today's class. Your feedback is anonymous and will help us improve library research sessions! Microsoft survey form link.