Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nov. 21, 2019 -- This page is currently being updated. Please check back again soon.
Below are selected reference sources for Psychology, such as dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks.
Reference books are located on the main floor of the library and are for in-library use.
Dictionaries of Psychology
APA Dictionary of Psychology by
Call Number: BF 31 .V295 2007 REF
Publication Date: APA, 2007
Newer 2nd edition on order and will be available soon.
A Dictionary of Psychology by
Call Number: BF 31 .C645 2006 REF
Publication Date: Oxford UP, 2007
Newer 4th edition is on order and will be available soon.
Campbell's Psychiatric Dictionary by
Call Number: RC 437 .C36 2009 REF
Publication Date: Oxford UP, 2009
"Campbell's Psychiatric Dictionary is widely recognized as the definitive dictionary of psychiatry--up-to-date, comprehensive, and authoritative."
Making Sense: A Student's Guide to Research and Writing: Psychology by
Call Number: Available at other Novanet libraries. MTA copy coming soon!
Publication Date: Oxford UP, 2015
"Up-to-date, detailed information on writing essays, research proposals, and lab reports; conducting research; evaluating Internet sources; APA guidelines; avoiding plagiarism; studying for tests and exams; delivering oral presentations; and more."
Presenting Your Findings: A Practical Guide for Creating Tables by
Call Number: HA 31 .N53 2010 REF
Publication Date: APA, 2010.
"Provides guidance on the proper table format for a wide range of statistical analyses in an engaging and accessible format. The authors have included statistics commonly used in analyses to make the book as useful as possible for researchers and students and have organized the chapters according to the complexity of the statistic."
APA Dictionary of Statistics and Research Methods by
Call Number: BF 76.5 .A7263 2014 REF
Publication Date: APA, 2014
Includes "over 4,000 entries offering clear and authoritative definitions; balanced coverage in such core areas as research planning and design, psychometrics, quantitative and qualitative measurements, and data analysis; and more than 100 illustrations of some of the common and uncommon data display methods..."
The SAGE Dictionary of Statistics: A Practical Resource for Students in the Social Sciences by
Call Number: HA 17 .C73 2004 REF
Publication Date: Sage, 2004
"Offers basic and straightforward definitions of key concepts, followed by more detailed step-by-step explanations of situating specific methods and techniques. It also contains lists of related concepts to help the user to draw connections across various fields and increase their overall understand of a specific technique."
Diagnostic and other manuals
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5 by
Call Number: RC 455.2 .C4 D54 2013 REF
Publication Date: American Psychiatric Association, 2013
"The latest edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, the (DSM-5®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, [...] defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research."
The Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals (15th ed.) by
Call Number: RS 51 .M4 2013 REF
Publication Date: Royal Society of Chemistry, 2013
"The Merck Index is the definitive reference work for scientists and professionals looking for authoritative information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. The Merck Index contains over 10,000 monographs with information relating to compounds of significance in research, commerce and environmental impact."
Social, Psychological, and Forensic Perspectives on Sexual Abuse by
Publication Date: Gale, 2018
"This resource examines the prevalence, assessment, causes, and impacts of sexual violence from cultural, legal, psychosocial, theoretical, and medical viewpoints. It discusses difficult but relevant issues including forensic assessment, legal ramifications, mental health, risk assessment, and effects on family life."