This guide is designed to help you find information and resources for Psychology.
More Subject Guides:
Novanet can be a good place to start searching for articles on some topics but it does not replace searching individual library databases.
Key databases for Psychology include:
OpenAlex is a free and open catalog of the world's scholarly research system. Try the off-campus bookmarklet for accessing documents off-campus.
These are just a few of the library databases you can search to find scholarly information in the field of Psychology. For a complete list of key Psychology databases, please see:
See also: Databases for Related Disciplines and Areas of Study:
Access to subscribed library resources is easy when you are using a university computer or the campus wireless network. The library gives publishers information about our campus networks when we set up a subscription for the university. When you are off-campus, you need to log in to your account to identify yourself as associated with Mount Allison University. This is required by the terms of the licenses we sign with publishers.
There are two approaches to getting access to electronic resources from off-campus.
1. Start from the library website or catalogue:
If you click on a link from the library website, such as a database in the A-Z List of Databases, you will be asked to log in with your MTA account. From that point on, your access will be the same as it is on campus.
2. Start from a publisher website and use the MTA Libraries Off-Campus Bookmarklet
If you usually start your search from a publisher website, or click on non-library links, you can use the off-campus bookmarklet to sign into your MTA account. Follow the instructions for installing the bookmarklet below. Once it is installed, you click on the bookmarklet to get to a sign-in screen when you are visiting a publisher website. You will be returned to the website and at that point your access will be the same as it is on campus.
Install the off-campus bookmarklet:
Note: You will have to set your browser to show the bookmarks or favourites if that is not your default setting. Bookmarklets are bookmarks that contain JavaScript commands, so JavaScript must be supported for the bookmarklet to function.
Click on the bookmarklet when you are at the website for a licensed academic resource for which the Libraries has paid. Every time you open a new tab, click on the bookmarklet. You won't have to log in on every tab - clicking on the bookmarklet again just extends your login session to the new tab.
If Mount Allison University Libraries and Archives does not license and pay for the content on the site, you will get an error message. This message means that the website is not set up as a MTA library resource. In those cases, requesting the item through ILL (if there is a cost) or browsing without the bookmarklet (if freely available) is the best approach.
If you have any questions about the MTA Libraries Off-Campus Bookmarklet, please contact Elizabeth Stregger, Data and Digital Services Librarian.
Just a few of the titles recently added to our collections:
Ethical Practice in Forensic Psychology: A Guide for Mental Health Professionals by 
The Cambridge Handbook of Evolutionary Perspectives on Human Behavior by 
Stereotypes: The Incidence and Impacts of Bias by To find more books and e-books, search Novanet and e-book collections listed on the library's E-books page.
