Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Language Resources
Books on Classical Languages
What Graeco-Roman Grammar Was About by
Call Number: PA 2071 .M38 2019
This book explains how the grammarians of the Graeco-Romance world perceived the nature and structure of the languages they taught. The volume is written to be accessible to students of linguistics from undergraduate level upwards, and assumes no knowledge of Latin or Ancient Greek.
Understanding Language by
Call Number: PA 111 .F35 2011
Understanding Language includes major sections on the noun and verb systems of the classical languages. In both cases, the book deals first with function (what nouns and verbs must do) and then explains how the forms of Greek and Latin achieve the needed functions. As a result, the book helps to make the hard tasks of memorizing forms and learning syntax easier and more enjoyable. Students gain a broad understanding of the way the classical languages work before they begin the details.
Latin: Story of a World Language by
Call Number: PA 2057 .L4613 2013
The mother tongue of the Roman Empire and the lingua franca of the West for centuries afterward, Latin survives today primarily in classrooms and texts. Yet this "dead language" is unique in the influence it has exerted across centuries and continents. Juergen Leonhardt offers the story of the first "world language," from antiquity to the present.
Latin Word Order by
Call Number: PA 2293 .D48 2006
This book begins by introducing the reader to the linguistic concepts, formalism and analytical techniques necessary for the study of Latin word order. It then proceeds to present and analyze a representative selection of data in sufficient detail for the reader to develop both an intuitive grasp of the often rather subtle principles controlling Latin word order and a theoretically grounded understanding of the system that underlies it.
501 Latin Verbs by
Call Number: PA 2158 .P7 2008
The most commonly used 510 Latin verbs are arranged alphabetically in a table format, one verb per page with English translation. Each verb is completely conjugated and presented in all forms. The book's additional features include example sentences to demonstrate verb usage and a grammar review.
A Companion to the Ancient Greek Language by
Call Number: PA 227 .C58 2010
A comprehensive account of the language of Ancient Greek civilization in a single volume, with contributions from leading international scholars covering the historical, geographical, sociolinguistic, and literary perspectives of the language. Includes discussions on phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, and pragmatics
Selected Reference Books for Classical Languages
Latin for the Illiterati by
Call Number: PA 2365 .E5 S76 1996 REF
Contains common words, phrases and abbreviations selected from the worlds of art, music, law, philosophy, theology, medicine and the theatre as well as clever sayings and sage advice from ancient writers. There is also a section on geographical place names, colors, months, days and Roman numerals as well as an English index.
A Dictionary of Latin Words and Phrases by
Call Number: PA 2365 .E5 M67 1998 REF
A Dictionary of Latin Words and Phrases is a handy reference for all kinds of writing, as well as an absorbing collection of phrases, mottos, proverbs and sayings.
NTC's Dictionary of Latin and Greek Origins by
Call Number: PE 1582 .L3 M66 1997 REF
This unique reference equips students with vocabulary skills that will last a lifetime. Students study Latin and Greek roots and learn the huge number of English words that derive from them.
A Lexicon of the Homeric Dialect by
Call Number: PA 4209 .C8 2012
For nearly a century, Richard John Cunliffe's Lexicon of the Homeric Dialect has served as an invaluable resource for students and scholars of Homer's Iliad and Odyssey. As both an English-Homeric dictionary and a concordance, the Lexicon lists and defines in English all instances of Greek words that appear in the two epics.
Oxford Grammar of Classical Greek by
Call Number: PA 258 .M89 2001 REF
The Oxford Grammar of Classical Greek gives clear, concise, and easily understood explanations of all the key points of Classical Greek grammar. With additional features such as a glossary of grammatical terms, a vocabulary list covering all the Greek words found in the main text, study tips, and practice exercises.