Mount A Libraries: Classics Subject Guide: Find Articles

Selected Journals

The Cambridge Classical Journal
The Cambridge Classical Journal publishes high-quality scholarly articles in all areas of Greek and Roman studies: literature, philology, philosophy, history, art & archaeology, reception, history of scholarship. CCJ has a publication history dating back to 1882 and is well known for some classic pieces which have changed the direction of the field.
Classical Quarterly
The Classical Quarterly has a reputation for publishing the highest quality classical scholarship for nearly 100 years. It publishes research papers and short notes in the fields of language, literature, history and philosophy.
Scholia: Studies in Classical Antiquity
Scholia was a twenty-year open-access journal series from 1992 -2011. The series featured critical and pedagogical articles on a diverse range of subjects dealing with classical antiquity, including late antique, medieval, Renaissance and early modern studies related to the classical tradition.
Classical Antiquity
Published biannually, Classical Antiquity explores interdisciplinary research and discussion of major issues throughout the field of classics, including Greek and Roman literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy and philology — Bronze Age through Late Antiquity.
Bryn Mawr Classical Review
Bryn Mawr Classical Review publishes timely open-access, peer-reviewed reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies, including archaeology.
See all Classics journals

Journal Finder

Have a citation for an article you would like to find at the library?

Use Journal Finder to search the title of the journal, magazine or newspaper.

If MtA has access to the title, Journal Finder will list what years and where (eg. in print or online)

Key Databases for Classics

APh: L'Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
Online version of L'Année Philologique, the major index for journals in Classics. Citations and abstracts; searchable by ancient and modern authors, subjects and disciplines, keywords. Coverage from 1959; updated annually; currently about two years behind.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Founded by James Loeb in 1911, Harvard University Press presents an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.
Perseus Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of Greek and Roman Materials includes primary and secondary sources (in original language or English translation), and the Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser. Other collections in Perseus include: Arabic, Germanic, 19th-Century American, Renaissance, Richmond Times, and Humanist and Renaissance Italian Poetry in Latin.
Project Muse (Standard Collection) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to the Project Muse Standard Collection of peer-reviewed journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Also serves as an index to addtional Humanities and Social Sciences journals not included in the Standard Collection.
1963 - present (varies by title, emphasis on recent years).
TOCS-IN (Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists) This link opens in a new window
Searchable tables of contents of nearly 200 journals and some article collections in Classics.
ProQuest (All Databases) This link opens in a new window
Search all ProQuest databases simultaneously: ABI, Canadian Research Index, CBCA, Periodicals Archive Online, the Politics Collection (PAIS, Policy File Index, Political Science Database, Worldwide Political Abstracts), Philosopher's Index, ProQuest Central, Research Library, and the Historical Newspapers collections of the Globe & Mail (1844-2013) and Toronto Star (1894-2015).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences. Current and recent volumes (last 2 to 5 years) not available for most titles.
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.

Other recommended databases for Classics