Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Sources
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome by
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome is the clearest and most accessible guide to the world of classical antiquity ever produced. This multivolume reference work is a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world--Greek, Hellenistic, andRoman--from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries.
The Oxford Companion to Archaeology by
The second edition of The Oxford Companion to Archaeology is a thoroughly up-to-date resource with new entries exploring the many advances in the field since the first edition published in 1996. In 700 entries, the second edition provides thorough coverage to historical archaeology, the development of archaeology as a field of study, and the way the discipline works to explain the past.
Classical and Medieval History (Library of Congress)
An annotated list of reference websites from The Library of Congress.
Digital Encyclopaedia of the Hellenic World
The Encyclopaedia of the Hellenic World aims at collecting, recording, documenting, presenting and promoting the historical data that testify to the presence of Hellenic culture throughout time and space
The Online Liddell-Scott-Jones Greek-English Lexicon
The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) has released a new online version of Liddell-Scott-Jones (LSJ), the premier lexicon for classical Greek. The TLG version represents five years of intensive work to produce a fully edited and searchable version of LSJ with links to the TLG corpus.
This site contains detailed lists of events and sources for the history of the Hellenistic world and the Roman republic. It includes links to online translations of many of the sources, as well as new translations of some works which have not previously been easily available in English.
Oxford Classical Dictionary Abbreviations List
A standard list of abbreviations of classics-related terms used widely in reference sources. From the University of Richmond
Ancient Abbreviation List
Helpful for reading and interpreting ancient texts. From the Perseus Digital Library.
Selected Reference Books for Classics
The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization by
Call Number: DE 5 .O94 2014 REF
As well as providing sound information on all aspects of classical civilization, the entries in the Companion reflect the changing interdisciplinary aspects of classical studies, covering broad thematic subjects, such as race, nationalism, gender, ethics, and ecology, confirming the impact classical civilizations have had on the modern world.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization by
Call Number: DE 5 .C28 2008 REF
The Cambridge Guide to Classical Civilization provides an authoritative survey of the classical world, combining the traditional strengths of classical subjects with new approaches examining the social and cultural features of the ancient Greek and Roman world.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture by
Call Number: N5610 .G76 2007 REF
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture is the most current and comprehensive reference resource for the visual arts of the Classical period. Arranged alphabetically, this two-volume set contains over 800 entries tracing the development of the art forms in classical civilizations such as ancient Greece and Rome.
Food in the Ancient World from A to Z by
Call Number: GT 2853 .G8 D35 2003 REF
This exciting new work by a leading authority explores food and related concepts in the Greek and Roman worlds. In entries ranging from a few lines to a couple of pages, Andrew Dalby describes individual foodstuffs (such as catfish, gazelle, peaches and parsley), utensils, ancient writers on food, and a vast range of other topics, drawn from classical literature, history and archaeology, as well as looking at the approaches of modern scholars.
Latin for the Illiterati by
Call Number: PA 2365 .E5 S76 1996 REF
Contains common words, phrases and abbreviations selected from the worlds of art, music, law, philosophy, theology, medicine and the theatre as well as clever sayings and sage advice from ancient writers. There is also a section on geographical place names, colors, months, days and Roman numerals as well as an English index.
A Dictionary of Latin Words and Phrases by
Call Number: PA 2365 .E5 M67 1998 REF
A Dictionary of Latin Words and Phrases is a handy reference for all kinds of writing, as well as an absorbing collection of phrases, mottos, proverbs and sayings.