Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Reference Books for Fine Arts
The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms by
Call Number: N 33 .C575 2010 REF
With more than 1,700 entries, The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms is an accessible and comprehensive A-Z guide covering a wide range of terms from the visual art world, including periods, styles, materials, well-known schools, techniques, and much more.
The Dictionary of Art by
Call Number: N31 .D5 1996
Boasting well over 6,000 contributors from 12 countries, the Dictionary offers its readers authoritative and comprehensive global coverage. A resource for both art and cultural studies, the Dictionary serves as a unique guide to all the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, as well as the decorative arts.
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics by
Call Number: BH56 .E53 1998
The first reference of its kind surveys the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society--from classical philosophy to contemporary critical theory. Featuring 600 original articles by distinguished scholars from many fields and countries, it is a comprehensive survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts--from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture.
The Grove Encyclopedia of American Art by
Call Number: N6505 .G76 2011
The Grove Encyclopedia of American Art is an ambitious publishing endeavor, unparalleled in its comprehensive approach to the study of art in the United States. Edited by Joan Marter, Distinguished Professor of Art History at Rutgers University, the five-volume Encyclopedia reconceptualizes American Art from the vantage point of the twenty-first century with a new methodological approach and broader scope than any such work published to date.
Online Reference Sources
Artists in Canada
Artists in Canada, compiled and maintained by the National Gallery of Canada Library, is a bilingual union list that identifies the location of documentation files on Canadian artists. Twenty-three libraries and art galleries across Canada have contributed biographical information and lists of their documentation files to create this resource which contains information for over 42,700 artists.
Art & Architecture Thesaurus Online (Getty Research Institute)
The AAT is a structured vocabulary designed to improve access to information about art, architecture, and material culture. The site includes brief definitions of historic and contemporary terms and a well-structured hierarchical tree.
Selected Reference eBooks for Fine Arts
Encyclopedia of American Folk Art by
Call Number: eBook / NK 805 .E6 2004
Written by 92 specialists in association with the American Folk Art Museum, the 600 cross-referenced and indexed articles, with bibliographies, included in this selection are the first comprehensive treatment of this influential art form. It includes information on bottle-cap art, canes, carousel art, scrimshaw, quilts, beadwork, and many other genres, as well as information on several visionary artists who still practice their crafts. This work has special appeal for folklorists.
Benezit Dictionary of Asian Artists by
Call Number: eBook
The Benezit Dictionary of Artists (2006) is the largest, most up-to-date compendium of artists' biographies in the English language, and for the last century has been an indispensable resource for art researchers. The dictionary is a standard reference work for art research and is known for its coverage of lesser-known artists, images of artists' signatures, and inclusion of auction sale records. The Benezit Dictionary Asian Artists consists of more than 4,700 entries on artists from throughout Asia, including the Middle East, from antiquity to the present.