Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Librarians are available to meet with you by phone or online.
Web Sources for Fine Arts
Archives of American Art
Founded in 1954, and joining the Smithsonian Institution in 1970, the Archives now provides access to the largest collection of documents on the history of the visual arts in the United States. Includes the papers of artists, dealers, critics, art historians, curators; and records of art dealers, museums, and other organizations
The Canadian Online Art Book Project
Founded in 2013, the Canadian Online Art Book Project is a growing digital library of books -- all original works commissioned by the Art Canada Institute -- by the country's leading art experts on artists who have made a critical contribution to the nation's art history. Each year the ACI releases six new titles in the program.
The Getty Research Institute: Search Tools and Databases
Links to a number of useful research tools provided by the Getty. Scroll down to the Getty Search Gateway to search several resources at once. While some tools are only available for use at the Getty, others provide global access.
Khan Academy - Art History
Now part of the KhanAcademy, this is a free multi-media web-book developed by Dr. Beth Harris and Dr. Steven Zucker and designed as a dynamic enhancement (or even substitute) for the traditional art history textbook.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History (Metropolitan Museum of Art)
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world from prehistory to 1800, as illustrated especially by the Metropolitan Museum of Arts' collection. Includes Special Topics and an Index.
Artstor features millions of high-quality images and media from some of the world’s top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists, including rare materials not available anywhere else. Artstor’s collections also include Open Access collections from partner museums freely available to all. All content in Artstor is rights-cleared for education and research — you are free to use it in classroom instruction and handouts, presentations, student assignments, and other noncommercial educational and scholarly activities.
Art Project (Google Cultural Institute)
Collaboration among some of the world’s most acclaimed art museums enables viewing of more than a thousand artworks online in extraordinary detail. Explore museums from around the world, and create your own collection of masterpieces.
This site serves as a comprehensive index to the online exhibits of thousands of artists. Search by artist's name, artwork title, or museum, or use the browse lists. Entries include links to museum sites, image archives, and other online resources.
Center for Creative Photography (University of Arizona)
This archive and research center retains the archives of significant 20th-century photographers and provides digital images of many works from the collections.
Centre international d'art contemporain de Montréal
The CIAC is a non-profit organisation with a mandate to disseminate contemporary art from Québec, Canada and abroad.
Digital Public Library of America
Explore millions of items from libraries, museums, and archives. Project partners include Internet Archive, HathiTrust. U.S. Library of Congress and National Archives, New York Public Library, Smithsonian Institution, and others.
Smithsonian American Art Museum
Includes photos and digitized access to artworks held by the Smithsonian, including painting, sculpture, photography, and more.
National Gallery of Art (U.S.): The Collection
The NGA houses one of the finest collections in the world illustrating major achievements in painting, sculpture, and graphic arts from the Middle Ages to the present. Search the collection by specific artist, title, or a combination of criteria, or browse by medium and school.
National Gallery of Canada
Ottawa's showcase features Canadian exhibitions, collections, educational programs and other museum services. Click on Research to explore archival records, collection databases, and other tools.
The LIFE Picture Collection
This online collection makes available a portion of the close to one million images from Life Magazine and other sources documenting American life and events in the 20th century.
Art Studio Chalkboard
This resource for artists and art students focuses on the technical fundamentals of perspective, shading, colour and painting; compiled by Ralph Larmann, art faculty member at the University of Evansville, in Indiana.
Recommended Reads for Visual Literacy
Recommended Reads for Visual Literacy is a bibliography of articles, books, and archival materials that seeks to serve as a detailed web resource for visual literacy. This project seeks to empower the current research community and to encourage educators and scholars to explore the existing literature on visual literacy. The project focuses on three main areas: visual literacy, libraries, and the ACRL Visual Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education; visual literacy across the disciplines; and archival materials about the formation of the International Visual Literacy Association. For more information about the archival materials, please see the Arizona State University’s website about the Benedict Visual Literacy Collection.
ACRL Visual Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education
Developed by the Association of College & Research Libraries, this guide outlines seven core competencies for visual literacy. Visual literacy is a set of abilities that enables an individual to effectively find, interpret, evaluate, use, and create images and visual media. Visual literacy skills equip a learner to understand and analyze the contextual, cultural, ethical, aesthetic, intellectual, and technical components involved in the production and use of visual materials. A visually literate individual is both a critical consumer of visual media and a competent contributor to a body of shared knowledge and culture.