Mount A Libraries: Indigenous Studies Subject Guide: Reference and Web Resources

Quick Links

Recommended Web Sources

News Sources and Historical Newspapers

Anishinabek News
Reports on news relating to the Anishinabek Nation.
APTN
APTN is a national news network dedicated to reporting on Indigenous stories.
CBC Indigenous
CBC news, stories and profiles on Indigenous peoples and communities.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
A Library of Congress collection with a directory of historic newspapers from 1777 to 1963, with digitized content. The "All Digitized Newspapers" search tab allows you to search by state, ethnicity, and language, making it easier to find Indigenous newspapers.
The Complete Indian News
Digitization project from the University of Winnipeg containing the complete collection of Indian News published from 1954 to 1982.
First Nations Drum
Canada's largest Indigenous newspaper.
Ku'ku'kwes
Ki'ku'kwes provides independent Indigenous news for Atlantic Canada.
Nova Scotia Historical Newspapers Online
A digitization project from Libraries, Archives and Museums Nova Scotia containing historic newspapers published between the 18th and 21st centuries, including Mi'kmaw, Acadian and Gaelic titles.
Windspeaker
Windspeaker is an independently owned news source from the Aboriginal Multi-Media Society. It covers Indigenous news, opinions and entertainment across Canada.

Web Databases and Collections

American Journeys
This digital collection compiles first-hand accounts of North American settlement and colonization.
American Notes: Travels in America, 1750 to 1920
A Library of Congress digital collection featuring first-hand accounts of travel in the colonies and America.
British Columbia Archives/Royal BC Museum
The BC Archives digital collections include photographs, paintings, texts, and other objects relating to the culture and history of British Columbia.
The Canadian Encyclopedia Online/ L'Encycloplédie canadienne en ligne
Online access to the full text of The Canadian Encyclopedia. In English and French.
Final Report on Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls
A two-volume report by the National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls that draws on two years of testimony and evidence gathering. It includes 231 Calls for Justice for governments, institutions and all Canadians.
History of the American West
The Denver Public Library's digital collections include more than 100,000 photographs relating to the development of the American West.
Indigenous Health Links Database
The National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous Health has compiled "links to research institutes and organizations undertaking Indigenous health research and knowledge translation across Canada and internationally."
iPortal - Indigenous Studies Portal Research Tool
The Indigenous Studies Portal Research Tool from the University of Saskatchewan contains both open access and licensed resources. It is primarily focused on the Canadian context.
The Jesuit Relations and the History of New France
Missionary texts that describe the history of French colonization in North America.
Koluskap: Wolastoqewi-atkuhkakonol - Stories from Wolastoqiyik
This virtual exhibit by the New Brunswick Museum offers stories, photographs, artwork and sound recordings.
Mi'kmaq Portraits Collection
The Nova Scotia Museum's database of portraits and images relating to the history of the Mi'kmaq of the Atlantic provinces.
Mi’kmawey Debert Cultural Centre
Website for the future centre. It features updates and planning documents as well as information on the culture and history of Mi'kma'ki.
National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation
Tasked with education and preservation related to the legacy of residential schools, the NCTR is the archival repository for information collected by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada. The website contains reports and information about residential schools across the country.
Native Health Database
Native Health Database, based at the University of New Mexico, compiles bibliographies and abstracts of articles, reports and other resources relating to indigenous health across North America.
Our Voices - Omushkego Oral History Project
This oral history project contains 340 hours of recorded legends, stories and oral histories in Cree and English by the scholar and storyteller Louis Bird.
Statistics Canada: Statistics on Indigenous People
Statistics Canada's Indigenous Portal compiles data relating to First Nations, Métis and Inuit populations, including statistics relating to language, geography, and health.
Wabanaki Collection
The project, run by University of New Brunswick’s Mi’kmaq-Wolastoqey Centre, collects videos, recordings, articles and other resources relating to the culture, history and languages of Indigenous Peoples in Eastern Canada and the Northeast US (Mi’kmaq, Wolastoqiyik, Abenaki, Penobscot and Passamaquoddy).
We Are Here: Sharing Stories
Library and Archives Canada digitization program that includes texts, photographs and maps relating to First Nations, the Inuit and the Métis Nation.
WWW Virtual Library - American Indians: Index of Native American Electronic Text Resources on the Internet
An index of links to online resources collected primarily for an Indigenous audience.

Government, Law, and Treaties

American Indian and Alaskan Native Documents in the Congressional Serial Set: 1817- 1899
Hosted by the University of Oklahoma, this collection compiles congressional publications and lawmaking documents relating to Indigenous peoples in the 19th century.
American Indian Treaties Portal
Resources on US treaties by the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

CanLII
CanLII provides free access to Canadian legal information: Court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions, and links to CanLII Connects with case commentary and summaries by lawyers, scholars and others with professional competency in legal analysis. Funded by Canada's provincial and territorial law societies.

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada
Federal government website with news, funding and program information related to MMIWG, residential schools, treaties, and consultation.
Indigenous Law Portal
Information on treaties, laws and by-laws relating to the Indigenous people of Canada. It also lists websites and profiles for nations, by province.
Maps of Pre-1975 Treaties
Website with maps reflecting treaties between 1725 and 1923.
Peace and Friendship Treaties at the Nova Scotia Archives
The page includes scans and transcripts of 18th Century treaties.
US Department of the Interior - Indian Affairs
This American government website contains information on US policies, programs and services for Indigenous peoples.

Advocacy, Leadership, and Representative Groups

Assembly of First Nations
Website for the AFN, which includes information on the Assembly's advocacy and policy work in various sectors including health, housing, and the environment.
Congress of Aboriginal Peoples
The Congress nationally represents the interests of "all off-reserve status and Non-status Indians, Métis and Southern Inuit Indigenous Peoples".
Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami
This website includes information on research, strategies, and outreach work being undertaken by the national representational organization for the Inuit in Canada.
Métis National Council
The website for the Métis National Council includes history and news relating to the Métis Nation, as well as information on the organization's programs and advocacy.
Native Women's Association of Canada
A national representational organization dedicated to improving and promoting the well-being of Indigenous women.