Indigenous Studies Subject Guide: Find Articles

Academic Complete is ProQuest’s award-winning subscription database trusted by libraries around the world. For more than a decade, students have relied on Academic Completes unlimited access, multidisciplinary coverage, and powerful research tools.

Major index for historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Subjects covered include popular culture, women's studies, anthropology, folklore, sociology, economics, music, art, etc. Coverage: 1964-present.

Access to full text of more than 30 American Anthropological Association publications. Coverage from 1888 (varies by title.)

Scholarly and peer-reviewed journal articles covering the subjects of Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre, and Cultural Studies

CBCA Complete is Canada's largest database of articles and other publications. Covers current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information on a wide range of topics. Includes over 500 periodicals and daily news sources (primarily Canadian), plus indexing to over 1,000 additional titles (over 95% Canadian).

The Canadiana Online collection contains digitized historical publications from the 16th to 20th centuries, including monographs, serials, and government publications. The collection is largely composed of materials published prior to 1921.

Curio is CBC and Radio-Canada’s online subscriber-based streaming service developed expressly for the Canadian educational community.

Part of the Adam Matthew Digital Collections, this project explores colonial history, politics, culture and society. Material in the collection spans five centuries, charting the story of the rise and fall of empires; from the explorations of Columbus, Captain Cook, and others, right through to de-colonisation in the second half of the twentieth century and debates over American Imperialism.

This collection provides primary source documents on the frontiers of North America, Africa, and Australasia from archives around the world, including Canada’s Glenbow Museum and Hudson Bay’s Archive. There are approximately 250,000 images and 8,000 documents in the collection, covering the themes of frontier existence including: Settlement development, Law and order, Violence, Expeditions and exploration, Relations with Indigenous peoples, Trade and commerce, Death and disease, Missionaries and religion, Women’s history, Military matters, Mining, Religion, Gold rushes, Settler governance, Contested boundaries, and Agriculture and livestock.

Full-text archive of journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences. Current and recent volumes (last 2 to 5 years) not available for most titles.

"A Database of Foods, Drugs, Dyes and Fibers of Native American Peoples, Derived from Plants." Most items include a direct link to the USDA (US Dept. of Agriculture) Plants Database. Supported by University of Michigan - Dearborn.

Full-text access to the Project Muse Standard Collection of peer-reviewed journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Also serves as an index to addtional Humanities and Social Sciences journals not included in the Standard Collection.

A searchable full-image version of the Toronto Star from its beginning in 1894 to 2019.