Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner image for Mount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesBanner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

French Language & Literature Subject Guide: Reference Sources for French Literature

Reference Sources for French Literature

General

Beaumarchais, Jean-Pierre de, Daniel Couty, and Alain Rey.  Dictionnaire des littératures de langue française.  3 vols.  Paris: Bordas, c1984- .   PQ 41 B4 1984 REF

Cabeen, David Clark, ed. Critical Bibliography of French Literature. 6 vols. Syracuse, N.Y.: Syracuse University Press, [publication date varies by volume]. Z 2171 .C3 REF

Dolbow, Sandra W.  Dictionary of modern French literature : from the age of reason through realism.  New York: Greenwood Press, 1986.  PQ 41 D65 1986 REF

Flower, John. Historical Dictionary of French Literature. Lanham: Scarecrow, 2013. PQ 41 .F58 2013 REF

France, Peter, ed.  The new Oxford companion to literature in French.  Oxford; New York: Clarendon Press, 1995.  PQ 41 .N48 1995 REF

Grente, Cardinal Georges, ed.  Dictionnaire des lettres françaises.  Rev. ed.  2 vols.  [Paris]: Fayard, 1992- .  PQ 41 .D55 1992 REF

Grente, Georges Grente, et al., eds.  Dictionnaire des lettres françaises : le dix-neuvième siècle.  2 vols.  Paris: Librairie Arthème Fayard, 1971-1972.  PQ 41 G7 REF

Levi, Anthony.  Guide to French literature : 1789 to the present.  Chicago: St. James Press, c1992.  PQ 226 L48 1992 REF

---.  Guide to French literature : beginnings to 1789.  Detroit : St. James Press, 1994.  PQ 151 L48 1994 REF

Mitterand, Henri, ed.  Dictionnaire des grandes oeuvres de la littérature française.  Paris: Dictionnaires Le Robert, c1992.  PQ 41 .D468 1992 REF

Popkin, Debra and Michael Popkin, eds.  Modern French literature : a library of literary criticism.  2 vols.  New York: Ungar, c1977.  PQ 306 M57 REF

Sinnreich-Levi, Deborah and Ian S. Laurie, eds.  Literature of the French and Occitan Middle Ages : eleventh to fifteenth centuries.  Dictionary of literary biography.  Detroit : Gale Group, c1999.  PQ 151 .L57 1999 REF


Fiction

Brosman, Catharine Savage, ed.  French novelists, 1900-1930.  Dictionary of literary biography.  Detroit: Gale Research, c1988.  PQ 671 .F67 1988 REF

---.  French novelists, 1930-1960.  Dictionary of literary biography.  Detroit: Gale Research, c1988.  PQ 671 .F68 1988 REF

---.  French novelists since 1960.  Dictionary of literary biography.  Detroit: Gale Research, c1989. PQ 671 .F69 1989 REF

---.  Nineteenth-century French fiction writers : naturalism and beyond, 1860-1900.  Dictionary of literary biography.  Detroit: Gale Research, c1992.  PQ 661 .N56 1992 REF

---.  Nineteenth century French fiction writers : romanticism and realism, 1800-1860.  Dictionary of literary biography.  Detroit: Gale Research, c1992.  PQ 655 .N56 1992 REF

Compère, Daniel, ed. Dictionnaire du roman populaire francophone. Paris : Nouveau monde, c2007. PQ 637 .P68 D53 2007 REF


Poetry

Beum, Robert, ed.  Nineteenth-century French poets.  Dictionary of literary biography.  Detroit: Gale Group, c2000.  PQ 433 .N56 2000 REF

Coleman, Kathleen.  Guide to French poetry explication.  New York: G.K. Hall : Maxwell Macmillan International; Toronto: Maxwell Macmillan Canada, c1993.   PQ 401 .C65 1993 REF

Jarrety, Michel, et al., eds.  Dictionnaire de poésie de Baudelaire à nos jours.  Paris: Presses universitaires de France, 2001. PQ 433 .D53 2001 REF


Drama

Confortès, Claude.  Répertoire du théâtre contemporain de langue française.  Paris : Nathan, c2000.  PQ 556 .C635 2000 REF

Cooper, Barbara T., ed.  French dramatists, 1789-1914.  Dictionary of literary biography.  Detroit : Gale Research, 1998.  PQ 501 .F733 1998 REF

Forman, Edward. Historical dictionary of French theater. Lanham: Scarecrow, 2010. PN 2637 .F67 2010

Gaines, James F, ed. The Molière Encyclopedia. Westport: Greenwood Press, 2002. PQ 1851 .M57 2002 REF


Québec and Acadia

Gallant, Janine, and Maurice Raymond, eds. Dictionnaire des oeuvres littéraires de l'Acadie des Maritimes, XXe siècle. Sudbury: Prise de parole, 2012. PQ 3940 .D53 2012 REF

Grandpré, Pierre de.  Histoire de la littérature française du Québec.  4 vols.  Montréal: Librairie Beauchemin, 1967-1969.  PQ 3917 .Q3 G7 1967 REF

Lamonde, Yvan.  Je me souviens : la littérature personnelle au Québec (1860-1980).  Québec: Institut québécois de recherche sur la culture, 1983.  PS 8081 L3 1983 REF

Lemire, Maurice, et al., eds.  Dictionnaire des oeuvres littéraires du Québec.  6 vols.  Montréal: Fides, 1978 - .  PQ 3901 .D5 REF


North America

Benson, Eugene, and William Toye, eds.  The Oxford companion to Canadian literature.  2nd ed.  Toronto: Oxford UP, 1997.  PS 8015 .O93 1997 REF

Hamel, Réginald, John Hare, and Paul Wyczynski.  Dictionnaire des auteurs de langue française en Amérique du Nord.  Montréal: Fides, 1989.  PQ 3904 H25 1989. 

Lang, Robert, et al., eds.  Contemporary Canadian authors : a bio-bibliographical guide to current Canadian writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields.  Toronto: Gale Canada, c1996 - .   PS 8081 .C66 1996 REF 

New, W.H., ed.  Canadian writers before 1890.   Dictionary of literary biography.  Detroit: Gale Research, c1990.  PS 8081 C5 1990 REF

---.   Canadian writers, 1890-1920.  Dictionary of literary biography.  Detroit: Gale Research, c1990.  PS 8071.2 C37 1990 REF

---.  Canadian writers, 1920-1959.   Dictionary of literary biography.  Detroit: Gale Research, c1988, c1989.  First Series: PS 8081 C54 1988 REF ; Second Series: PS 8081 C55 1989 REF

---.  Canadian writers since 1960.  Dictionary of literary biography.  Detroit: Gale Research, c1986, c1987.  First Series: PS 8081 C58 1986  REF ; Second Series: PS 8081 C59 1987 REF
 

Women and Literature

Makward, Christiane P., et al.  Dictionnaire littéraire des femmes de langue française : de Marie de France à Marie NDiaye. Paris: Karthala, c1996.  PQ 149 .M35 1996 REF

Sartori, Eva Martin, et al., eds.  The feminist encyclopedia of French literature.  Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1999.  PQ 149 .F47 1999 REF

Sartori, Eva Martin, and Dorothy Wynne Zimmerman, eds. French women writers : a bio-bibliographical source book.  New York: Greenwood Press, 1991.  PQ 149 .F73 1991 REF


Science Fiction

Lofficier, Jean-Marc, and Randy Lofficier.  French science fiction, fantasy, horror and pulp fiction : a guide to cinema, television, radio, animation, comic books and literature from the middle ages to the present.  Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, c2000.  PQ 637 .F3 L64 2000


Literary Terms

Bergez, Daniel, Violaine Géraud, and Jean-Jacques Robrieux.  Vocabulaire de l'analyse littéraire. Paris: Dunod, 1996, c1994.  PN 172 .B496 1996 REF

Delabastita, Dirk, et al., eds. Dictionnaire des termes littéraires. Paris: Champion, 2005. PQ 41 .D565 2005

Dictionnaire des genres et notions littéraires.  Paris: Encyclopaedia Universalis : A. Michel, c1997.  PN 44.5 .D53 1997 REF

Gallix, François.  Dictionnaire raisonné bilingue de l'analyse littéraire.  Paris: Ed. du Temps, c2000.  PN 81 .G55 2000 REF

Hules, Virginia T., and Michael Grimaud.  Le français littéraire fondamental : a glossary for students and teachers.  Washington, D.C.: University Press of America, c1981.  PC 2680 H8 1981 REF

Quivy, Mireille. Glossaire bilingue des termes littéraires: francais-anglais. Paris: Ellipses, 2004. PN 44.5 .Q58 2004 REF