Auteures acadiennes: Women's (Life) Writing in Acadia
Research tool covering Acadian women's literary, auto/biographical, and other writings. Created and maintained by Dr. Monika Boehringer, Modern Languages and Literatures, Mount Allison University.
Reading Women Writers and African Literature
"An overview of African women writers writing in French." Sponsored by The School of Humanities at The University of Western Australia.
See also: E-Texts & Digital Collections
Tennessee Bob's Famous French Links
An excellent collection of over 10,000 links.
Voice of the Shuttle
A gateway site providing access to web pages for Humanities Research (including French Literature).
ABU: La Bibliothèque Universelle (l'association des bibliophiles universelles)
A keyword searchable collection of French texts from many time periods
The Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language (ARTFL) is a cooperative enterprise of the Laboratoire ATILF (Analyse et Traitement Informatique de la Langue Française) of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), the Division of the Humanities, and Electronic Text Services (ETS) of the University of Chicago.
Note: ARTFL includes both subscription and public access databases. All public access databases may be accessed (on and off campus) from the ARTFL Public Databases page.
ARTFL Subscrption Databases include:
- FRANTEXT, the main ARTFL Database, comprising more than 3,500 French language texts spanning from the 12th through the 20th centuries
- French Women Writers, a collection of works from the 16th to 19th centuries
- Provencal Poetry, texts from the 12th and 13th centuries
- Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie
- Several other collections
For more information about ARTFL, please see the ARTFL Project main page.
ATHENA Textes Français
A very large collection of links to texts organized by author
Gallica
Digital holdings from La Bibliothèque nationale de France. Access over 70,000 works and 80,000 images and many hours of audio files, including historical, literary, scientific, legal, political and other works.
Poésie française(Webnet)
A searchable collection of over 2000 French poems (some with audio) from the Renaissance to the early 20th century. Searchable by author, title, country, time period and verse.
French Language Online Newspapers and Magazines (MIT Foreign Languages Lab)
Presse francophone électronique
Radio Garden
This website allows you to listen to over 8,000 live radio stations from around the world. Created by Jonathan Puckey with financial support from the Netherlands Institute of Sound and Vision. Use the interactive map or search for stations in France or other French-speaking countries.
See also: databases listed on the A - Z List of Databases for French and, for newspapers: Nexis Uni, etc. on the A - Z List of Databases for News.
Dictionaries & Glossaries
La base de terminologie CILF
Conseil international de la langue française, France. Provides translations and some definitions for mostly technical terms in French, English, Spanish and German in a variety of subject areas. (Also has an excellent grammar/language learning section: "Orthonet".)
Collins English-French / French-English Dictionary Online
Free online version includes audio for pronunciation, and usage examples from a variety of sources, but less descriptive detail and fewer definitions than the print version.
Dictionnaire de l'Académie française 9e édition informatisée
The official, but incomplete dictionary of the French language.
FranceTerme (formerly La base de données CRITER)
Commission générale de terminologie et de néologie, France. The Commission's database of new French terms and definitions recommended for use by the administration and government services in France.
Gallica
Has hundreds of digitized historical dictionaries, general and specialized, from the Bibliothèque nationale de France.
Glossaries by the Government of Canada Translation Bureau
Selected glossaries in specialized fields are available online; older print editions are available in the R.P. Bell Library, in Gov. Docs (CA1 SS5.50...)
Le Grand dictionnaire terminologique (GDT)
By the Office québécois de la langue française. This is the Quebec government's terminology data bank in English and French. (Also has an excellent grammar/language learning tool: "La banque de dépannage linguistique".)
IATE (InterActive Terminology for Europe)
European Union terminology database of the terms and phrases used by EU institutions, in the 24 official EU languages.
Linguee
Linguee English/French dictionary provides definitions and pronunciations, and example sentences from selected, reliable translation sources.
OLDO (Oxford Language Dictionaries Online)
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online provides access to Oxford's bilingual French-English, English-French dictionary, and additional study materials. Note: Off-campus access to OLDO is restricted to authorized Mount Allison users.
Le Petit Robert / Le Nouveau Petit Robert.
An abbreviated version of the Grand Robert, but more frequently updated.
- latest version available online: on campus access | off campus access
TERMIUM Plus: The Electronic Trilingual Terminology and Linguistic Databank of the Government of Canada Translation Bureau.
Coverage: French, English and Spanish terms, with some definitions, standardized translations and documentation.
Trésor de la langue française informatisé. Online version of the 16-volume Trésor de langue française dictionary of the 19th and 20th centuries, with definitions, etymologies and a large number of literary examples. Provides multiple search options including browse, phonetic, by type of usage (e.g. ironic, pejorative, metaphorical, etc.), by grammatical function, etc.
UNTERM (United Nations Terminology Database)
Updated daily with UN-related terms.
See Also: multilingual dictionaries on the Online Reference Dictionaries and Thesauri page.
Grammar, Usage Guides, Language Learning
Amélioration du français.
By le Centre collégial de développement de matériel didactique (CCDMD), Quebec. Financed by the Quebec Ministry of Education. Has lots of interactive exercises and other learning materials.
La banque de dépannage linguistique
By the Office québécois de la langue française. Provides responses to the most frequently asked questions on French grammar, spelling, punctuation, abbreviations and vocabulary in general.
French as a Second Language Training / Programme de français langue seconde
Canada School of Public Service training materials and audio files in French designed to help federal government employees attain bilingualism.
One-Stop Fiche Shop: An Advanced Students' Guide to Writing Better Sentences in French
A collection of "fiches correctives" identifying and explaining difficulties and mistakes commonly made in French by English speakers. Includes correct usage examples from over 1,000 authors. By Australian National University French Professor, James Grieves.
Orthonet
By Conseil international de la langue française in Paris (CILF). Provides correct and new spellings, grammar explanations, games and tests.
Le Portail linguistique du Canada
Government of Canada Translation Bureau web site containing French "writing tools": writing guides, grammar and usage guides (including Guide du rédacteur, Dictionnaire des cooccurrences, ConjugArt, La Bellerive, Clefs du français pratique, etc.), as well as language learning games and exercises, articles and recommendations on language usage, spelling, etc. from the Bureau's linguists and translators. "Navigateur linguistique" searches them all. Select Jeux for listing of interactive quizzes available.
Rosetta Stone interactive language lessons. Available to NB residents with a public library card. See NPLS Online Databases
Culture francophone
Le site des arts et de la culture des communautés francophones et acadienne du Canada.
Culture.fr (Ministère de la culture et de la communication, gouvernement de France)
Provides links to information on all aspects of French culture, past and present.
Encyclopédie du patrimoine culturel de l'amérique française / Encyclopedia of French Cultural Heritage in North America (By the Dept. of Canadian Heritage, Government of Québec, Laval University, and other partners.)
France Diplomatie (Ministry of Foreign Affairs, France)
Provides current information on France. Note the French and English versions differ.
Les Archives littéraires : un guide des fonds littéraires à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada
A guide to the Library and Archives Canada archival fonds from Canadian writers, as well as individuals and organizations active in fields related to literature.
Bibliothèque nationale de la France
France's National Library. See Connaître la BnF for details about the Library.
Bibliothèque et Archives Nationales du Québec
Collects and conserves and provides access to the province's documentary heritage.
Catalogue Collectif de France
Allows you to search over 5,000 libraries in France, and over 3,000 special collections.
The European Library
Provides cross-searching of 48 national libraries and 24 leading research libraries from 46 European countries.
Alapage
Online catalogue of French books available for sale
Chapitre.com
Over 8 million new and used books in French, some with reviews
Renaud Bray
One of the largest francophone booksellers in North America; also has videos