Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner image for Mount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesBanner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

Linguistics Subject Guide: Recommended Websites

Recommended Websites

Selected Linguistics Meta Sites

Linguist List
A website run by linguistics professors and graduate students with over 2,000 pages of information; also hosts several linguistics mailing lists.

Linguistic Resources on the Internet (by SIL International)
A large collection of links to web sites on linguistics topics including speech, phonetics, morphology, grammar, syntax, semantics, languages, text analysis, corpus linguistics, and more.

web resources | return to top


Languages

APiCS Online (Atlas of Pidgin and Creole Language Structures Online)
Shows the grammatical and lexical structures, and provides audio clips, of 76 pidgin and creole languages from around the world.

Atlas of Endangered Alphabets. By the non-profit Endangered Alphabets Project.
Writing systems can be found by their place of origin using the interactive map or selected by name.

Atlas of Endangered Languages. By the Endangered Languages Project.
Information on over 3,000 endangered languages around the world.

Canadian Language Museum / Musée canadien des langues.  Glendon College, Toronto. Has panels from travelling exhibits on Canada's official and indigenous languages, articles on language issues, a collection of indigenous language apps and websites, and more.

Dictionary of American Regional English Fieldwork Recordings.
Provides recordings of interviews with nearly 3,000 “Informants” in communities from each state in the United States from 1965-1970.  The  recordings include conversational interviews and readings of a story devised to elicit the essential differences in pronunciation across the country. This fieldwork data provided information for the Dictionary of American Regional English.

Endangered Languages Project
The site has samples, videos, language map, and research on the world’s endangered languages.

Ethnologue (No longer open access; see Print Reference Volumes in Reference Sources list.)
The most comprehensive database of information on languages has the number of speakers, locations, dialects, and other sociolinguistic data on over 6,900 languages.

European Minority Languages
Provides links to online resources on minority "or minoritized" languages; organized by language and by language family.

FirstVoices.
FirstVoices is a suite of web-based tools and services designed to support Aboriginal people engaged in language archiving, language teaching & culture revitalization. The Archive contains thousands of text entries in many Aboriginal writing systems, enhanced with sounds, pictures and videos. Also has interactive online games for language learning. Includes a Mi'kmaw Community Portal with a dictionary using the Pacifique writing system.

iLoveLanguages (formerly Human-Languages Page)
A redesign of The Human-Languages Page and the Languages catalog of the WWW Virtual Library, this site brings together over 2,400 links to information on languages (dictionaries, language lessons, etc.) from around the world.

IDEA (International Dialects of English Archive)
This archive provides downloadable recordings of accent and dialect speakers from many regions of the world.

Indigenous Language Apps & Websites.
Languages spoken in Canada. Sites collected by the Canadian Language Museum.

LangMedia. By Five College Center for the Study of World Languages. Has "CultureTalk" video clips of interviews and discussions with people from around the world, on dialects and language use. Also has language learning tips and related resources.

Mi'gmaq Online Dictionary.
A talking dictionary for the Mi'gmaq/Mi’kmaq language. Each headword is recorded by a minimum of three speakers. All entries have Listuguj speakers and spellings. Recordings from Unama'ki speakers and the Smith-Francis spellings used in Cape Breton are being added. 

Native Languages of the Americas.
A large collection of links to online sites for over 800 Indigenous languages of the western hemisphere, with language learning tools, audio tapes, dictionaries, texts and more.  Includes a section on the Mi'kmaq language.

OLAC: Open Language Archives Community
A large library of language resources.

Omniglot: A Guide to Writing Systems & Languages of the World.
This site provides information on all languages and over 160 different alphabets and other writing systems.

Passamaquoddy-Maliseet Language Portal. Links the online Passamaquoddy-Maliseet Dictionary originally hosted at UNB with an extensive archive of videos of conversations and activities of Passamaquoddy-Maliseet speakers. The Portal is designed as a resource for language learning and research.

Passamaquoddy Peoples' Knowledge Portal.
A digital archive of the Indigenous Passamaquoddy tribe, from SW New Brunswick and Maine. It is a repository for their language preservation project with the Library of Congress focused on digitizing and transcribing wax cylinder sound recordings that were made in 1890 by  anthropologist Walter Jesse Fewkes. You can listen to some of these audio clips as well as other sound recordings, and see related images, videos, and documents depicting Passamaquoddy culture and heritage.

Phonetic Alphabet Chart (by the International Phonetic Association)
This is the International Phonetic Alphabet, the standard used for phonetic representation of all languages.

Speech Accent Archive
This is a database of speech samples recorded by native and non-native speakers of English, in Quicktime format. Searchable by language of the speaker and geographic region. Also has phonetic inventory of world languages and links to more information on world languages, phonetics and accents.

UNESCO Atlas of the World's Languages in Danger
Searchable, interactive atlas, with additional information on the endangered languages listed in the print edition.

World Atlas of Language Structures Online
A database by the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology, WALS Online allows you to search by language, feature, etc. to find information on structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages.

World Oral Literature Project
Hosted at the University of Cambridge, this project provides an online collection of audio, video, and other resources documenting endangered oral literatures.

 

For dictionaries and language learning resources see also the Mount Allison U. Library subject guides for French, German, Japanese, and Spanish, and the Online Reference page: Language Dictionaries & Thesauri.

The New Brunswick Public Library System provides free online access to Rosetta Stone language learning programs for over thirty languages. Free for anyone with a New Brunswick public library card.

 

web resources | return to top


Nonverbal Communication

Center for Nonverbal Studies
The main part of this site is the Nonverbal Dictionary of Gestures, Signs, and Body Language Cues compiled by David Given, a CNS researcher. The dictionary includes hundreds of entries with illustrations and scientific explanations.

American Sign Language "Signing Savvy" website
An online ASL dictionary that allows you to see a QuickTime video of each word or phrase being signed.

American Sign Language University UTube Channel 
An extension of ASLU's main website, Lifeprint.com, this channel is run by Dr. Bill Vicars, ASL professor at California State U. Most of the videos are of  ASL lessons for beginners, others cover more advanced topics such as medical sign language and ASL linguistics.

web resources | return to top