Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner image for Mount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesBanner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

News and Announcements: News Archive

Freedom to Read Week

The week of February 22 - 28, 2015, is Freedom to Read Week.

Freedom to Read Week Poster Image

What is Freedom to Read Week? 

"Freedom to Read Week is an annual event that encourages Canadians to think about and reaffirm their commitment to intellectual freedom, which is guaranteed them under the Charter of Rights and Freedoms." 

For more information, please see freedomtoread.ca, and explore the Banned Books and Resources tabs above. 

The following books, all available in our library, have been banned or challenged in years past. See dozens more in our Freedom to Read Week display at the front of the library. 

Sources of the information provided in the descriptions above about the reasons books were banned, burned or challenged: Banned and/or Challenged Books from the Radcliffe Publishing Course Top 100 Novels of the 20th Century  and Challenged Works: Selected Books & Magazines That Have Been Challenged in Canada by the Canadian Book and Periodical Council.

More Banned Books

Top 50 banned or challenged books of the decade
From The Globe and Mail, updated Aug. 23 2012. 

For more information about Freedom to Read Week, please feel free to drop by the Research Help Desk and chat with a librarian.  You can also find out more about Freedom to Read Week and intellectual freedom by exploring the links below.  

Backfile Content Acquired for 1200 Elsevier Journals

Beginning January 1, 2014 Mount Allison students, faculty, and staff have access to the archival contents of approximately 1,200 Elsevier journal titles in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. The purchase includes thirteen subject packages: Agricultural and Biological Sciences; Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology; Earth and Planetary Sciences; Engineering and Technology; High Energy/Nuclear Physics and Astronomy; Materials Science; Medicine and Dentistry; Neuroscience; Pharmacology, Toxicology and Pharmaceutics; Physical and Analytical Chemistry; Physics General; Psychology; Social Science; and 61 individual titles.

The titles in these packages collectively best represent our current Elsevier paper journals which will be withdrawn from the collection. These titles also include many of 11,700 articles MTA students and faculty requested between January 1, 2012 and October 31, 2013 but which could not be accessed online because they fell outside our old Elsevier licence.

A consolidated list of titles is available. The URL associated with each title can be used to access the title directly from on or off campus. If asked, enter your MTA username and password. Access is restricted to current MTA users.

Library Catalogue Will Be Unavailable October 12 at 1:00 AM

On October 12, 2014 the Mount Allison Library Catalogue will be unavailable due to required system maintenance.  Work is scheduled to begin at 1:00am.  The catalogue will resume operation as soon as the work is completed.

Thanksgiving Week-end Hours

Holiday Week-end Hours

The R.P. Bell Library and Access Services (Circulation) Desk will be open as usual throughout the long week-end.

The Research Help Desk will be open Thanksgiving Monday, October 13th, from 1:00 pm to 4:30 pm but closed on Thanksgiving Sunday, October 12th. 

Please see the Hours page for more details. 

Library Research Workshops

Library Research Workshops: September 25 - October 7

The Library will soon be offering 50-minute workshops designed to introduce you to the library, library databases and other research tools.

We’ll answer these questions and more:

    Where do I start my research?
    How do I find a copy of an article I need?
    How do I find the best books and journal articles?
    How do I know which resources to use for my research topic?

Workshops will be held in the Library Computer Lab (third floor) on the following dates:

    Thursday September 25 at 7:00 pm
    Friday September 26 at 2:30 pm
    Wednesday October 1 at 7:00 pm
    Thursday October 2 at 4:00 pm
    Sunday October 5 at 2:00 pm
    Tuesday October 7 at 2:30 pm
    Tuesday October 7 at 7:00 pm (CANCELLED: please use the email address below to let us know if you'd like the library to offer  additional worshops)

Sign-up sheets are posted outside the Library coffee shop or e-mail infodesk@mta.ca.  

Database Trials

A New Home for Database Trials

From time to time, the Mt. A Libraries acquire trial access to new electronic resources such as journal indexes, full-text databases and online encyclopedias.  You can now find these database trials on the right-hand side of the new A - Z List of Databases

Note that trials are only listed when viewing all databases on the A - Z List.  For example, trials will not appear if you have limited the list of databases to those for a particular discipline.  If you do not see any trials listed when you first access the page, try clicking Reset. 

Current Trial: Kanopy

Kanopy is a video streaming database providing access to a wide range of documentaries and feature films, including titles from the National Film Board of Canada, the Criterion Collection, and the Media Education Foundation (MEF). 

You can access the Kanopy trial by going to the main page of the A-Z List of Library Databases.

Trial ends October 7, 2014.

Your comments and suggestions:

Please send comments and suggestions (including requests for a database trial) to the Research Help Desk or contact your subject librarian.