Mount A Libraries: Sociology Subject Guide: Find Articles

Key Databases for Sociology

SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
The first place to look for most Soc topics. SocINDEX indexes and provides full text access for hundreds of Sociology journals from 1908 to the present. This database also includes full text for hundreds of books and monographs, and full text for thousands of conference papers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences. Current and recent volumes (last 2 to 5 years) not available for most titles.
Social Science Database (ProQuest Central) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles covering topics in the social sciences.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Journal articles with a focus on sociology and social work.
Coverage from 1985 to the present.

Full List of Sociology Databases

Search Tips

The following guides provide tips to help you search effectively for the information you need:

How to Search for Articles
How to Find Articles on Your Topic
Preparing a Search Strategy
Tips for searching library databases

More Research Guides and Search Tips

Additional guides designed to help you search for and evaluation information can be found on the Research Tips page.

Journals for Sociology

Sociology is an interdisciplinary subject. These journals are only a small sample of what is available and you are encouraged to explore the Journal Finder tool to find articles related to Sociology in journals that might be classified under History, Women's and Gender Studies, Law, and so on.

Comparative Studies in Society and History
Comparative Studies in Society and History is a peer-reviewed academic journal published quarterly by Cambridge University Press on behalf of the Society for Comparative Study of Society and History. It was established in 1958.
International Journal of Politics, Culture, and Society
The International Journal of Politics, Culture, and Society is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal covering political science, social theory, and economics.
Sexualities
Sexualities is an established international journal and an invaluable resource, publishing articles, reviews and scholarly comment on the shifting nature of human sexualities. The journal adopts a broad, interdisciplinary perspective covering the whole of the social sciences, cultural history, cultural anthropology and social geography, as well as feminism, gender studies, cultural studies and lesbian and gay studies.
Work, Employment, and Society
Work, Employment and Society encourages exploration across the boundaries of industrial sociology, industrial relations, labour economics, applied psychology, and organisational analysis.
Journal of Criminal Justice
The Journal of Criminal Justice is an international journal intended to fill the present need for the dissemination of new information, ideas and methods, to both practitioners and academicians in the criminal justice area.
Gastronomica: The Journal of Food and Culture
Since its inception as Gastronomica: The Journal of Food and Culture in 2001 , Gastronomica has been the go-to journal for important conversations about food. Peer-reviewed.

Journal Finder

Use the Journal Finder to browse all the journals for Religious Studies.

You can also search for specific journals by title or ISSN number in the search bar.