Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Reference Sources for Sociology
The Penguin Dictionary of Sociology by
Call Number: HM 17 .A24 2006 REF
Written by three eminent professors, it has been updated to reflect the shifts of sociological thought in the last five years, making it the most comprehensive, authoritative and up-to-date dictionary available. It is essential reading for all students and teachers of sociology and other related courses – and also the general reader.
A Dictionary of Critical Theory by
Call Number: B 809.3 .B83 2010 REF
Containing over 750 in-depth entries, this is the most wide-ranging and up-to-date dictionary of critical theory available.
21st Century Sociology: a Reference Handbook by
Call Number: HM585 .A13 2007 REF
21st Century Sociology provides, in two volumes, a concise forum through which the vast array of knowledge accumulated, particularly during the past three decades, can be organized into a definitive resource. 21st Century Sociology focus on the corpus of knowledge garnered in traditional areas of sociological inquiry, as well as documenting the general orientation of the newer and currently emerging areas of sociological inquiry.
Key Concepts in Urban Studies by
Call Number: HT 109 .G68 2005 REF
Clearly and concisely explains the basic ideas in the interdisciplinary field of urban studies, offers concise discussions of concepts ranging from community, neighbourhood, and the city to globalization, the New Urbanism, feminine space, and urban problems, constitutes a re-examination of the key ideas in the field, and is illustrated throughout with international examples.
Culture Wars: An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and Voices by
Call Number: HM 1121 .C85 2010 REF
Featuring hundreds of A-Z entries and numerous photos, the set examines the history and relevance of the issues, events, controversies, personalities, groups, and concepts that have contributed to the political and social polarization of American society over recent decades.
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology, 11 Volume Set by
Call Number: HM 425 .B53 2007 REF
Named a Best Reference Work for 2009 by Library Journal. Arranged across eleven volumes in A-Z format, it is the definitive reference source for students, researchers, and academics in the field. This ground-breaking project brings together specially commissioned entries written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers.
Cultural Encyclopedia of the Body by
Call Number: HM636 .C85 2008 REF
Cultural Encyclopedia of the Body is a treasure trove of essays that explore the human body alphabetically by part, detailing practices and beliefs from the past and present and from around the world that are sometimes mind-blowing and eye-popping. Body parts are examined through a multifaceted cultural lens. Readers will explore how the parts are understood, what they mean to disparate societies, how they are managed, treated, and transformed, and how they are depicted and represented.
American Countercultures: an Encyclopedia of Nonconformists, Alternative Lifestyles, and Radical Ideas in U. S. History by
Call Number: HM647 .A44 2009 REF
Counterculture, while commonly used to describe youth-oriented movements during the 1960s, refers to any attempt to challenge or change conventional values and practices or the dominant lifestyles of the day. This fascinating three-volume set explores these movements in America from colonial times to the present in colorful detail. "American Countercultures" is the first reference work to examine the impact of countercultural movements on American social history.
Dictionary of Sociology by
Call Number: eBook
With full coverage of areas such as social stratification, crime and deviance, culture and identity, mass media, power and politics, and religion, the Dictionary of Sociology is designed to give the reader a sound introduction to the debates and issues in which sociologists engage. Cross references abound, while illustrations and tables further aid understanding and the A-Z format makes the book exceptionally easy to use.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by
Call Number: eBook
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History by
Call Number: eBook
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History brings together in a single authoritative reference work an extraordinary wealth of information about the history of everyday life in America.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America by
Call Number: eBook
The second edition of The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America thoroughly updates the original, award-winning title, while capturing the shifting American perspective on food and ensuring that this title is the most authoritative, current reference work on American cuisine.In over 1,400 entries, this new edition of The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America reflects the many changes in American food consciousness during the twenty-first century.