Government Information & Statistics: International Organizations

Law & Legislation

• Council of Europe Treaties. Has the full text of all Council of Europe treaties, their explanatory reports, the status of signatures and ratifications, declarations and reservations by member states, Treaty Office notifications. Coverage includes ETS (European Treaty Series) from 1949 to 2003, CETS from 2004 to present.
   
• EUR-Lex: The Portal to European Union Law.
  Includes current issues of the Official Journal of the European Communities, as well as EU treaties, and international agreements, legislation in force and in preparation, competition law, case law, and recent judgments by the Court of Justice, Court of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA), and the European Court of Human Rights.


• European Parliament Register of Documents.
  From this search screen you can find links to parliamentary debates, committee reports, minutes of proceedings, resolutions, declarations, etc. Search by document type, author, dates or keywords.


• LII/Legal Information Institute: Law by Source: Global.
  A collection of international law.


• United Nations Treaty Collection
  Select UNTS (UN Treaty Series) for access to treaties and international agreements filed with the UN Secretariat sinece 1946 and to see the status of treaties. The full text of the treaty collection can be searched by keyword, title, participant, date and action. This site also links to the UN Rule of Law web site and related databases and documents.

Statistics & Data

• data.europa.eu. By the Publications Office of the European Union. 
  A portal that allows you to search the metadata of public datasets from international, EU, national, regional, local, and geodata portals.
   
• Eurostat. By the European Commission.
  This is the official statistical office of the European Union. Its mission is to provide high quality statistics at the European level.
   
• Official Statistical Organizations. By UNECE.
  Links to official statistical organizations in the UNECE Region. Includes national, UN, UN Regional commissions, IOs and NGOs.


• UNdata
  The United Nations compiles statistics from its member countries on social, economic, demographic, industry, government and environmental issues. This site provides access to UN statistical databases by topic and by country. Country Profiles include statistics on population, economic and social indicators, environment and trade.
   
• World Bank Open Data
  The World Bank collects data from its member countries covering topics such as agriculture, aid, education, environment, energy and mining, gender equality, health, economic policy, poverty, labour, science and technology, trade, social and urban development. The Data Catalog provides access to thousands of indicators from World Bank data sets. Data on this web site are a subset of the Word Bank's Data Bank time series data.
   
• World Health Organization Data
  The UN specialized agency for health has global health statistics, mortality database, health facilities database, health equity country profiles and more.

See also Other Countries -- Statistics, and subject guides, eg. Economics, Geography & Environment, etc.

Finding Aids

• European Parliament Register of Documents Search
  To see the documents available click on "Document Type".


• Finding U.S. and International Statistics
  A subject-based list of the major online sources for statistical information, by Laine Ruus, U. of Toronto Data Librarian. (Note: Where access restrictions apply, please contact the Mount Allison Library Research Help Desk.)


• IGO Search
  By the Union of International Associations. A very basic search engine that allows you to search the web sites of all IGOs (over 3,000) identified by the UIA in their Yearbook of International Organizations.
   
• United Nations iLibrary
  Provides access to publications, journals, data, and series published by the UN Secretariat, its funds and programs.


• United Nations Official Document System (ODS)
  This search engine provides access to the full text of UN official documents from 1993 on (earlier being added regularly) and resolutions from 1946 on. Official documents include those related to meetings of the General Assembly and its subsidiary bodies, conferences and other meetings sponsored by the UN, resolutions and decisions. "Sales" publications can be searched at http://unp.un.org.
   
• United Nations Digital Library (formerly UNBISNET Catalogue)
  Provides metadata for print documents and links to electronic UN documents from 1979 to the present, voting records from 1946 on and speeches from 1983 on.

Research Guides

• International Legal Research in a Nutshell.
  By Marci Hoffman and Robert Berring. St. Paul, MN: Thomson/West, 2008. 313 p. KZ 1234 .H64 Stacks.
   
• Yale University's UN Information by Research Topic
  By Yale University Library and Social Science Statistical Laboratory.
   
• United Nations Library Research Guides
  The United Nations' Dag Hammerskjold Library website provides research guides on the UN and its publications.  Research guides are listed by subject. The "UN Resources and Documents" link provides access to other useful  resources for information about the UN including Index of Proceedings of major UN bodies.