Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Government Information & Statistics -- OTHER COUNTRIES
Law & Legislation
- C-SPAN World Legislatures. Links to world legislatures that have live TV coverage of proceedings.
- GLIN (Global Legal Information Network)
By the Law Library of Congress, this is a database of official texts of laws, regulations, judicial decisions and other legal sources in their original languages from government agencies and ILOs around the world. The texts and English summaries are searchable by keywords or using the Subject Term Index.
- LII/Legal Information Institute: Law by Source: Global
A collection of international law. Links to legal sites and documents by country under "National Law Material".
- National Parliaments. By the Inter-Parliamentary Union.
Links to national parliament websites. The IPU New Parline site shows data on parliaments such as structure, number of members, percentage of women, etc.
Database of parliamentary rules, containing the formal rules of procedure over time. Currently covers the UK House of Commons (1811-2015) and the Irish Dáil (1926-2016).
- World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII)
Developed by Legal Information Institutes and other organizations, this site provides a common search engine and web access to over 1,000 databases of case law, legislation, treaties, law reform reports, law journals and other materials from 20 countries.
- Eurostat., by the European Commission.
This is the official statistical office of the European Union. Its mission is to provide high quality statistics at the European level. Many tables include comparable statistics by country.
- IPUMS International, by the University of Minnesota, National Statistical Offices, international data archives, and other international organizations. A collection of census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space.
- International Statistical Agencies, by U.S. Census Bureau.
Links to national statistical agencies by country (scroll to bottom of the page).
- National Statistical Offices, by WTO
Links to national statistical agencies by country.
- OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web, by U. of Auckland Library.
Links to official statistical sources by country, region, and topic.
- OECD Data Portal
Statistics are provided for OECD countries, by country ("statistical profiles") or by topic. This page also includes a link to the annual OECD Factbook with over 100 indicators per country. Experienced users may want to try the interactive visual presentation tool: Factbook eXplorer.
- Official Statistical Organizations. By UNECE.
Links to official statistical organizations in the UNECE Region. Includes national, UN, UN Regional commissions, IOs and NGOs.
- Parlline - Inter-Parliamentary Union Global Data on National Parliaments.
Data on national parliaments such as structures, working methods, gender parity, women’s caucuses, youth and MPs’ human rights.
- Statista -- The Statista database contains country reports with statistics on population, the economy, finance, and more. Statista is designed for business clients. Its data sources include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
The United Nations compiles statistics from its member countries on social, economic, demographic, industry, government and environmental issues. This site provides access to UN statistical databases by topic and by country. Country Profiles include statistics on population, economic and social indicators, environment and trade.
- World Bank Open Data
The World Bank collects data from its member countries covering topics such as agriculture, aid, eduction, environment, energy and mining, health, economic policy, poverty, labour, science and technology, social and urban development. The Data Catalog provides access to thousands of indicators from World Bank data sets. Data on this web site are a subset of the Word Bank's Data Bank time
- The World Factbook. By the CIA (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
This regularly updated website has information on all countries ("over 267 world entities") including on their history, people, society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues. Facts are from a variety of sources (not cited) deemed reliable by the CIA. Also available: Links to earlier versions from 2000 on, maps, and country comparisons.
NGA GEOnet Names Server (GNS). The U.S. official repository of standard spellings of all foreign geographic names, sanctioned by the United States Board on Geographic Names (US BGN). All the geographic features in the database also contain information about location (latitude & longitude), administrative division, etc. and link to the feature on a map.
A Google-based search engine for the output of parliamentary library and research services (briefings, studies and other documents that are publicly available). Includes the main parliamentary research services of the European Union, the United States of America, United Kingdom, Ireland, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and Ghana. More comprehensive regional search engines are also available.
- Finding U.S. and International Statistics (by Laine Ruus, U. of Toronto Data Librarian)
Lists major online sources for statistical information, organized by subject. (Note: Where access restrictions apply, please contact the Mount Allison Library Research Help Desk.)
- Parliamentary Research Service Publications in English. By Iain Watt, Information@Work
A Google-based search engine that covers the output of parliamentary library and research services (briefings, studies and other documents that are publicly available). The main parliamentary research services of the European Union, the United States of America, United Kingdom, Ireland, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and Ghana can be searched together. These and others can also be searched separately.
- GlobaLex, by the Hauser Global Law School Program at New York University.
Under "Foreign Law Research" are links to research guides by country, created by law librarians around the world. There is also a section on comparative law research and international law research.
See Also: Research Guides under "International Organizations" below (some sites also provide information on individual countries).
The AVALON PROJECT: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
A large collection of digitized government and legal documents from ancient times to the present.
Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments
By the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency (CIA). Governments are listed in alphabetical order by country with the President, Ministers, and many others listed. Updated weekly. Past years are available from 2001.
British Library website with text, images, and videos explaining the history and significance of the Magna Carta.
U.K. Parliamentary Research Publications
Research briefings produced by the House of Commons Library, the House of Lords Library and the Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology (POST) can by searched by date, type, and topic.
Worldwidescience.org: The Global Science Gateway
A federated search engine by the WorldWideScience Alliance, maintainted by the U.S. Department of Energy. Provides access to approximately 100 databases and portals from over 70 countries. Includes current findings in fields such as energy, medicine, agriculture, environment, and basic sciences.