Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Government Information & Statistics -- CANADA
- Official Canada Web Site
- Aboriginal Peoples & Communities in Canada
- Government of New Brunswick
- Other Canadian Provinces & Territories: Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Newfoundland and Labrador, Northwest Territories, Nova Scotia, Nunavut, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, Saskatchewan, Yukon
- Canadian Municipalities (List and links from the Federation of Canadian Municipalities)
Law & Legislation
- CANLII (Canadian Legal Information Institute)
Provides access to Canadian and provincial statutes, regulations, case law or judgments from various federal and provincial courts and tribunals and the Supreme Court of Canada, all searchable separately or in combination.
- Department of Justice Canada. Laws Web Site
The official site for the laws and regulations of Canada from 2000 to present. For Acts from 1900 - 2000 see Internet Archive; for earlier Acts (1841-1900) see Early Canadiana Online.
- Acts, Agreements,Treaties and Land Claims by Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada. This site has all of the above as well as related research, reports, maps and additional resources. The Aboriginal & Treaty Rights Information System (ATRIS) provides up-to-date information on First Nations, Métis, and Inuit communities in Canada, including a brief profile, and the treaties, agreements, claims, negotiations, and related court cases and decisions with interactive mapping, to show where Aboriginal groups are located in Canada and what their established or asserted rights are.
- Canada Gazette
The official newspaper of the Government of Canada. Part I contains information required by federal law or regulation, including private business notices and proposed regulations. Part II includes regulations and other statutory instruments such as orders in council, orders and proclamations, etc. Part III contains the Acts of Parliament, published as soon as they receive royal assent.
Available: 1998 to present. For 1841-1997 see Library and Archives Canada.
- Orders in Council
Searchable OICs from 1990 to present. Historical Orders in Council made between 1867 and 1910 can be found on the Orders in Council Research Tool (Library and Archives Canada) and in the Canada Gazette.
- Parliament of Canada
The official site for House of Commons and Senate legislation in the making (bills, debates, committee reports, and related information). See LegisInfo for the status of current legislation, 2001 to present. For pre-1994/96 House of Commons and Senate documents see Canadian Parliamentary Historical Resources.
- Library of Parliament Research publications
A collection of background papers, current issue reviews, legislative summaries, etc. on all major issues affecting Canadians.
(see also Special & Historical Collections and Research Guides)
Statistics & Data
- Statistics Canada
The official statistical agency of Canada. Search the website, or browse by subject, for statistics available online. Special collections and databases include:
- Canada Year Book Historical Collection (1867-1967)
This collection can be browsed by year or topic or searched by keyword. Also available in print at CA1 BS11 C202.
- CANSIM (Now Statistics Canada Data Tables)
Thousands of time series of economic, demographic, and social statistics. Coverage: Historical and current (dates vary). Some manipulation of data tables is possible. Concordance between former CANSIM Table numbers and new Product ID.
- Census Information
Selected tables from the latest Census and some previous are available on the Statistics Canada web site. Older Census publications are in the Government Documents collection at CA1 BS98...
- Data Liberation Initiative (DLI) Data Files, Statistics Canada.
The DLI is a partnership between post-secondary institutions and Statistics Canada for improving access to Canadian data resources, especially microdata. The Library's annual subscription allows Mount Allison University students, staff and faculty to access these files for teaching and academic purposes only. List of Surveys and survey acronyms available: DLI Collection.
DLI Beyond 20/20 Web Data Server (WDS). A web-based multi-dimensional table viewer to access aggregate data in the DLI Collection. No knowledge of statistical programs (e.g. SPSS, SAS) is required. Includes Excel tables, IVT tables, word docs and PDF files.
DLI Nesstar. A web-based data exploration, extraction and analysis tool that lets you search for survey variables across the collection of PUMFs (public use microdata files), and public master file metadata. PUMFs can be manipulated online by selecting variables to generate custom tables or downloaded for use with most statistical software (SAS, SPSS, etc.). For assistance see: Nesstar Webview User Guide or contact MTA's DLI Contact and Data Librarian, Elizabeth Stregger
- Financial Performance Data (formerly SME Benchmarking Tool)
Provides detailed financial and employment data on small businesses for over 600 industries across Canada. Performance measures include expenses, employment data, some balance sheet and financial ratios, and profitable/non-profitable businesses.
Years available: 1993 on. Updated every two years. Based on the Small Business Profiles.
- Financial Performance Indicators for Canadian Business
An inventory of key financial ratios for small, medium, and large firms in Canada's major industry groups.
- Latest edition on CD-ROM, available at the Circulation Desk (CA1 BS61 C224).
- Earlier years on CD-ROM, microfiche, and print.
- For background information, see: "Financial Performance Indicators for Canadian Business: Concepts, Sources and Methods" CA1 BS61 C0057.
- Historical Statistics of Canada, 2nd ed., 1983.
Over 1,000 social and economic statistical tables from 1867 to the mid 1970's. Also available in print at HA 746 .U6 1983 Reference.
- Trade Data Online
International trade statistics: Canadian and U.S. trade with over 200 countries, searchable by product, and Canadian trade by industry.
Years available: Last 10 years. Updated regularly with the latest trade data from Statistics Canada and the U.S. Census Bureau.
- Statistics Canada Classification Codes:
North American Industry Classification System.
This page leads to a detailed listing of NAICS codes for industries, concordance tables to previous versions, and international standards.
Standard Product Classifications.
Links to a variety of classification standards used by Statistics Canada to collect data on good and services.
Standard Geographical Classification (SGC).
Statistics Canada's classification for geographical areas in Canada. Vol. 1 has an alphabetical index of place names and describes the classification and standard areas. Vol. 2 has reference maps showing the location and boundaries of the standard geographical areas.
Open Data New Brunswick
Open Data Portal, Government of Canada
Printed maps and atlases produced by the Canadian government include hydrographic charts, topographic maps, geological and soil survey maps, census and electoral boundary maps, etc. Not all are listed here. Some maps accompanying publications can be found using the online library catalogue. Others, like the topographic maps have their own index in the map cabinets. R.P. Bell Library, Basement. For assistance ask at the Research Help Desk.
Major digital map and geospatial data sets:
Provides access to many of the Government of Canada's online maps and geospatial tools.
By Natural Resources Canada, this online version of the Atlas allows you to create and print customized maps. The “Reference Maps” page lists provincial, national and international maps suitable for printing (in .jpeg or .pdf formats). Includes base and relief maps, maps showing lakes and rivers, location of cities, political boundaries, historical Indian treaties, drainage, federal elections, parks, time zones, etc. Also links to Toporama with access to topographic maps.
Canada Land Inventory
These maps by the former Dept. of Regional and Economic Expansion and Dept. of Environment show land capability for agriculture, forestry, wildlife, and outdoor recreation for the years 1965-1978. Print: CA1 FR84... Government Documents Stacks, R.P. Bell Library. Digital: See GeoGratis.
- Canadian Geographical Names
An interactive web site that shows the location of current, officially approved placenames by province and local administrative boundaries and geographic coordinates. Names include land, water and undersea features, cities, towns, etc. See also Geobase.
- Canadian Statistical Geospatial Explorer Hub. Statistics Canada
Allows you to search through thousands of Statistics Canada indicators down to the level of dissemination areas and create a custom map, export data to Excel or a shapefile.
Gazetteer of Canada Series
Print gazetteers for each province, the Concise Gazetteer of Canada, and the Gazetteer of Undersea Feature Names. Use to find the exact coordinates of geographical features, towns and cities.
Print: R. P. Bell Library, Government Publications. Digital: See Canadian Geographical Names.
A joint federal, provincial and territorial site overseen by the Canadian Council on Geomatics to provide free access to quality Canadian geospatial data and web mapping service. Registration is required. Datasets include:
- includes aboriginal lands, Canadian Geopolitical Boundaries including international and provincial/territorial boundaries and economic zones, municipal boundaries and federal electoral districts.
Canadian Digital Elevation Data
- ground elevations at regularly spaced intervals from 1:50,000 and 1:250,000 NTDB and provincial sources
Canadian Geodetic Network
- horizontal and vertical geodetic control information (geographic and UTM coordinates, etc.), for thousands of points across Canada.
Canadian Geographical Names, (CGN)
- a subset of the Canadian Geographical Names Database, shows the location of current, officially approved placenames by province and local administrative boundaries and geographic coordinates. Names include land, water and undersea features, cities, towns, etc.
- available in GML and ESRI shape files; free viewers provided
- circa 2000.
National Hydro Network (NHN)
- provides geospatial data describing Canada's inland surface waters
National Power Line Network and National Railway Network in progress.
National Road Network (NRN)
- Level 1 NRN (NRNC1) is the representation of a continuous centerline for all non-restricted use roads in Canada.
- includes Geobase, Landsat and Radarsat orthoimages with the least amount of distortion (geometrically corrected) and the control points used in orthorectification.
For additional information on the GeoBase Portal and NRCan data see NRCan's Earth Sciences site.
GeoConnections Discovery Portal
Gateway and finding aid to millions of Canadian geospatial data products which can be searched together by subject, coverage, or format. Includes satellite imagery and aerial photography, datasets, raster data, vector data, and web map services.
Provides Canadian geospatial data free online: Landsat and RADARSAT images, atlas vectors, earth observation data and vector/tabular data including federal electoral boundaries, Census data, Canadian and North American Conservation Areas databases, Canadian Digital Elevation Data (CDED), National Topographic Database (NTDB) at 1:50,000 and 1:250,000 CanImage, 1:50,000 & 1:250,000 vector data (with natural and cultural features) for all of Canada (includes 13 themes: hydrography, elevation, road network, etc.) and the Canada Land Inventory (CLI) with over 1,000 mapsheets at 1:250,000 showing land use and land capability for agriculture, forestry, recreation, wildlife, and outdoor recreation.
- Geological Survey of Canada
Maps and series of publications with maps show surficial materials, etc. Print copies in R.P.Bell Library, Government Documents: CA1 MS29 ...
Finding Aid: Search for these and other GSC maps on the GEOSCAN Database the NRCan Earth Sciences Sector database of maps and publications.
This site combines high-resolution aerial photos of the entire province of New Brunswick, property boundaries, property assessment and civic address information, Dept. of Transportation road network data, geographic elevations, weather data, streams and hydrographic detail with distance measurement, search capabilities, map viewer, and the ability to print custom maps. Content includes the New Brunswick Atlas in 94 pdf files, themes: Crown land, electoral boundaries, planning commissions, military bases, First Nations lands, LSDs, wetlands, etc. More content added regularly. (See also New Brunswick Dept. of Natural Resources and Service New Brunswick Digital Spatial Data Products below.)
- Natural Resources Canada
NRCan's Maps, Tools and Publications page links to a variety of maps including international boundaries, energy, forest, Canada Lands Survey, geoscience and topographical maps, as well as geomapping tools and applications and related information. Digital topographic data also available through the GeoGratis web site. National Topographic Database map index and maps also available online at Toporama. Print copies of some topographical maps in R.P.Bell Library map cabinets.
- New Brunswick Department of Natural Resources
Mount Allison University receives DNR geospatial files under agreement with DNR for use in teaching and academic research only. Layers available include:
- Buffer coverages from 2002 Management Plans for Crown lands;
- Deer wintering areas (DWA) landbase for Crown land as finalized for the 2002 Crown Management Plans for Crown Timber Licences;
- Ecosite coverages (shows ecological classification including ecoregion, ecodistrict, ecosection and ecosite classifications);
- Forest Development Survey (complete coverage of the province except for restricted land ownership);
- Holder coverages (holder information as found in forest layer (NOTE: Does not match SNB info.);
- Line coverages (single line features including roads, streams, transmission lines and railways, as determined through the DNR interpretation process);
- Old Spruce-Fir Habitat (OSFH) blocks for Crown lands;
- Soils and drainage classes for NB.
Support files available at: http://www.lib.unb.ca/gddm/maps/DNR
For access, Mount Allison students, faculty and staff please contact Elizabeth Stregger firstname.lastname@example.org
- Service New Brunswick Digital Spatial Data Products
Mount Allison University receives the following SNB geospatial data files under agreement with SNB for use in teaching and academic research only:
Digital Topographic Database (DTDB)
- shows natural and cultural features; includes Digital Terrain Model (DTM) showing elevations in the province;and Enhanced Topographic Base (ETB)
- support files available: CARIS, Autocad, map index and user’s guide
- Digital Property Database (‘snapshot’ version)
-property mapping data; includes property map files, parcel index files, and assessment files
NOTE: To access the current, dynamically updated version contact SNB directly
- Landsat Imagery of NB (from federal government)>
- NB GeoCalc>
- NB Grid shift files
- Softcopy Orthophoto Database (SODB)
- colour photomap series in compressed format
- support files available: CARIS, user’s guide, MrSID viewer free to download
- Survey Monuments CD
- listing, location and sketches for existing survey monuments in NB
Support files available at: <http://www.lib.unb.ca/gddm/maps/SNB/support_files_general.html> For access, Mount Allison students, faculty and staff only, please contact Elizabeth Stregger email@example.com
- Statistics Canada
Access to selected maps, data, reference material and related information based on Census geography is through the Census Geography page. Content and formats vary by Census year. Not all Census years are available on the website. (See also the Canadian Statistical Geospatial Explorer Hub and print collection.)
DLI (Data Liberation Initiative). Geography files in ArcInfo and MapInfo formats are available from Census years 1981 to the latest. These include cartographic boundary files, road network files, and skeletal road network files. Level of geography and coverage available varies by Census year. Public use microdata files for major Statistics Canada surveys with a geospatial component are also available. For access to these files: Mount Allison students, faculty and staff only, please contact: Elizabeth Stregger firstname.lastname@example.org. More information on the DLI.
This Natural Resources Canada site provides easy access to topographic maps of Canada which show ground relief, lakes and rivers, forest cover, administrative areas, populated areas, roads and railways and other features. Atlas of Canada maps include 1:1,000,000 to 1:30,000,000 NTDB: 1:250,000 and CanVec 1:50,000.
See also "Special & Historical Collections
- Mount Allison University Library Online Catalogue
Use to find selected government documents available online and in the library.
- Voilà, Canada's National Union Catalogue (formerly AMICUS)
Includes the holdings of over a thousand Canadian libraries, many of them government libraries. To limit your search just to federal government publications search the Federal Publication Locator, a subset of Aurora, LAC's catalogue.
- Library and Archives Canada Search
The "Search All" feature includes the National Library, Archives, image search and genealogy search. Each can be searched separately as well.
- Legislative Library of New Brunswick Catalogue
The largest collection of New Brunswick material.
- GALLOP Portal, (Government & Legislative Libraries Online Publications Portal)
This database by APLIC, the Association of Parliamentary Libraries in Canada, provides access to selected online government and legislative publications held by most Canadian provincial and territorial legislative libraries and federal documents from the Depository Services Program listing at publications.gc.ca. Searches can be limited by jurisdiction. (Does not include PEI, Nunavut or Yukon.)
- Canadian Research Index
Indexes federal, provincial and municipal documents from Canadian jurisdictions, reports by research Institutes and government laboratories, Statistics Canada publications and more. Indexed: 1900 - current. (A ProQuest database.)
- Government of Canada Publications Catalogue
A catalogue and online archive of Canadian federal government publications identified by the Publishing and Depository Services Directorate.
- Government of Canada Web Archive
Contains federal government web pages that are no longer available to the public. Searchable by organization name and URL.
- Internet Archive Canada -- Canadian Government Publications Portal
Contains thousands of digitized Canadian government publications, mostly historical.
An excellent research tool for finding information on legislation currently before Parliament. By the Library of Parliament.
- Canadian Legal Information Institute (CANLII)
This not-for-profit organization provides one-window access to legislation (statutes and regulations), and legal decisions from courts, boards, panels and councils, from Canadian federal, provincial and territorial jurisdictions. The search engine can be used to search all sources together, by jurisdiction or document type.
- Federal Science Library Catalogue
Catalogue for seven federal government science librariies: Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Environment and Climate Change Canada, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Health Canada, National Research Council Canada, Natural Resources Canada, Public Health Agency of Canada.
- NRC Publications Archive
An institutional repository of technical reports, conference publications, articles, and more, authored by the National Research Council Canada.
- Finding Canadian Statistics
The best guide to Canadian and other statistical data for all subjects, originally by Laine Ruus, U. of Toronto Data Librarian. (Note: Where access restrictions apply, please contact the Mount Allison Library Research Help Desk.)
- Statistics Canada Library Catalogue
Statistics Canada's Online Library Catalogue includes the complete collection of Statistics Canada's documents in print and electronic form, including research papers, working papers and internal documents from 1918 on, as well as publications from other sources.
- Best Guide to Canadian Legal Research, by Catherine Best.
- Bora Laskin Law Library Legal Research Tutorial. By the Bora Laskin Law Library, University of Toronto.
- Contemporary Canadian Government & Politics: A Practical Research Guide
Provides research tips and annotated links to print and online resources on Canadian government and politics since 1945.
- Doing Legal Research in Canada, by Ted Tjaden.
- Fact-Finder's Guide to Local & Regional Data: How to Find National Statistics, by Rural Ontario Institute.
Highlights community-level statistics available from Statistics Canada and other federal agencies.
- Finding and Using Statistics: A Key Source of Information on Canada and Canadians.
A guide to the statistics produced by Statistics Canada, including tips on interpreting statistics in general, citing data, and links to more.
- Finding Historical Federal Legislation, by Yolanda Koscielski, Simon Fraser University Library.
- Statistics: Power from Data!
A Statistics Canada guide to using statistical information, intended for students. Covers issues in data collection, processing and use, organizing data, graphing, etc. and problems using information, misinterpreting statistics, etc.
Special & Historical Collections
- Aboriginal Heritage. Library and Archives Canada collection of digitized materials in many formats documenting the history of the First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples in Canada.
- Cabinet Conclusions. Searchable collection of selected Cabinet Conclusions (records that summarize discussions and decisions of federal Cabinet meetings) from 1944-1979.
- Canadiana Online Government Publications Collection
Includes over 8,000 historical pre-1920 colonial, provincial and federal government documents such as acts, bills, committee reports, court rules, debates, journals, ordinances, a selection of official publications from France and Great Britain, sessional papers, regulations, royal commission reports, voter’s lists and treaties.
- Census of Canada Report Locator: 1851-1951. Census publications from 1851 to 1951 with links to electronic copies found in the Internet Archive when available. The reports are from the Historical Catalogue of Statistics Canada Publications, 1918-1980 (11-512). List created by Durkin, Kelly; Everall, Kyla; Fisher, Luisa; Galvin-Grant, Victoria; Kingston, Kathryn; Wadden, Joanne.
- Completed Access to Information Requests. Search the summaries of completed Access to Information (ATI) requests to find information about ATI requests previously made to the Government of Canada. If you find a summary of interest, you can request a copy of the records at no cost. Some provincial governments also provide access to previously requested information: British Columbia, Newfoundland, Nova Scotia (last 3 years only)
Global Affairs Canada Digital Library. Digitized departmental publications include Communiqués, Statements and Speeches, annual reports, etc.
Internet Archive Canada -- Canadian Government Publications Portal
Contains thousands of digitized Canadian government publications, mostly historical.
Electronic Manifestos Canadian Provinces
A collection of Party Platforms from all Canadian provinces. Part of the POLTEXT site at Université Laval.
Historical Topographic Maps of Ontario
Collection includes over 1,000 topographical maps dating from 1906 to 1977 digitized by the Ontario Council of University Libraries.
A collection of digitized archival sources including government documents from the 1600s to the mid-1900s.
Library & Archives Canada Maps, Charts and Architectural Plans Collection
Access to LAC collections of air photos, atlases, charts, geomatics, globes, and maps.
Library of Parliament Research Publications
A collection of short research and analysis papers intended for parliamentarians, on legislation and major public policy topics.
LiPaD: The Linked Parliamentary Data Project
Searchable transcripts of Canadian Parliamentary Debates ("Hansard") from 1901 to present. Additional information being added includes Senate Debates, parliamentary committee transcripts, and information about parliamentarians, demographic profiles and election outcomes in their constituencies. A project by the University of Toronto.
Registry of Canadian Government Information Digitization Projects
An index of digitized government documents held by Canadian libraries. It is intended to function as a centralized access point for digitized government documents and publications in Canada.
Sessional Papers of Canada Collection 1901-1925
Digitized collection from the University of Toronto. Sessional papers include a wide variety of reports and documents tabled in the House of Commons or Senate including departmental annual reports, Public Accounts and Estimates, Royal Commission and Task Force reports, election results, government policies and responses to committee reports.
By TakingITGlobal, Canadian Roots Exchange, and Bold Realities. This website allows users to identify Indigenous Nations, territories, and Indigenous communities in Canada. It can be used for learning about the territory your home or business is situated on, finding information for a land acknowledgement, and learning about the treaties and agreements signed across Canada. Educational videos show why land acknowledgements are important, and the way Indigenous people view their relationship to land. The app consists of six different maps of Indigenous territories, Treaties, and First Nations, Inuit, and Metis communities. Also includes parts of the United States, Mexico, and the Caribbean.
Canada's Changing Climate Report, Government of Canada, 2019.
The first in-depth, stand-alone assessment of how and why Canada’s climate has changed, and what changes are projected for the future. By scientists from Environment and Climate Change Canada, Fisheries and Oceans Canada and Natural Resources Canada, and university experts.
Conserving Biodiversity : Independent Auditor's Report. Spring 2018, Report 3.This audit by Canada's Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development focused on whether Environment and Climate Change Canada provided national leadership and coordination to conserve Canada’s biodiversity, and whether responsible federal departments and agencies were working to meet selected biodiversity conservation targets.The audit found serious shortcomings.