Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner image for Mount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesBanner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

Contemporary Canadian Govt. & Politics: A Research Guide: Finding and Evaluating

Finding Information

TO FIND USE
Scholarly Research in Academic Journals Indexes and Full-text Databases
Articles in Other Journals & Magazines Magazine and Newspaper Indexes and Databases
Current Events / News News Databases, Digitized Collections, Digests, Indexes, News Websites
Books Library Catalogues, Textbooks, Bibliographies, Indexes, Online Bookstores, Online Book Collections
Other Academic Work
(Theses, Conference Papers, Essays)
Library Catalogues, Special Indexes and Databases
Government Information Library Catalogues, Indexes, Publication Lists, Internet, Access to Information Requests
Political Party Information Library Catalogues, Internet
Research from Policy Institutes, Think Tanks and Other Organizations Library Catalogues, Indexes and Databases, Bibliographies, Internet
Videos Library Catalogues, Video Catalogues

Evaluating Information

Whenever you receive information, for whatever purpose, you should be evaluating its reliability before you believe it, use it, or repeat it. The need to evaluate information sources is more obvious when you have a project due in a short time and you are faced with hundreds or thousands of books, articles, and other potential sources of information. You cannot possibly read them all, so in the process of selecting information sources for your research project you need to evaluate which will be the best.

There are many ways to evaluate information. The more experienced the researcher is in a field, the easier it will be to make evaluative judgments about information and to decide whether it is suitable for use in your research project. For students and researchers new to the field of Canadian politics and government this process is more difficult. One way to start can be to use only sources recommended by experts: books on reading lists, in selective, evaluative bibliographies, or in the recommended reading lists of textbooks and subject guides. However, most research topics will require branching out further. Link to the following for some of the tools and techniques you can use to help you evaluate information and sources of information:

Books

Articles

Websites

Writing Annotations/Reviews

Fact-Checking