History Subject Guide: United States

This site (sponsored by the American Studies program, Washington State Univ.) seeks to provide the "best materials on the web for studying and teaching about 19th century American literature, history and culture" for teachers, scholars, and students at all levels.

A digital collection of some 52 published works by 19th century black women writers. A part of the Digital Schomburg, this collection provides access to the thought, perspectives and creative abilities of black women as captured in books and pamphlets published prior to 1920.

"Comprises 253 published narratives by Americans and foreign visitors recounting their travels in the colonies and the United States and their observations and opinions about American peoples, places, and society from about 1750 to 1920."

A detailed guide to locating women's history materials at the Library of Congress. This site includes discussions of: Government films encouraging women to work; Manuscript Collections relating to women in World War II; World War II posters; Recorded Sound materials from World War II; Women on Armed Forces Radio Service in the Recorded Sound Reference Center.

The website of the U.S. National Archives and Record Administration, containing images, historical documents, and guides to federal and regional archives.

U.S. Congressional documents and debates, 1744-1873.

A collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. It includes first-person narratives, including slave narratives, material on the church, literature of the south and daily life during the civil war.

"A collection of electronic texts and links to texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820." The two components of this site allow you to search for material on the EADA site plus browse through lists of material available at other sites.

Core documents of U.S. democracy.

Provides access to digitized materials from many Kentucky libraries, archives, historical societies, and museums.

The Library of Congress' Digital Collections include digitized photographs, manuscripts, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, and books.

Archival collections includes logbooks, diaries, letters, business papers, and published narratives of voyages and travels.

The Denver Public Library's digital collections include more than 100,000 photographs relating to the development of the American West.

An educational guide to the Great Depression of the 1930s. The New Deal Network is sponsored by the Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Institute and the Institute for Learning Technologies at Teachers College/Columbia University.

Includes more than 2000 digitized items (letters, books, maps) on the third US president.

A site that offers images, lyrics, sound recordings, newspaper articles, and critical responses to Harriet Beecher Stowe's novel.

This site, run by historians at the University of Virginia, allows visitors to research the experiences of two Civil War era communities. It includes maps, censuses, newspapers, personal papers, etc. from Franklin County, Pennsylvania and Augusta County, Virginia.

This on-line book documents and explores the reading and writing habits of American women, the evolution of book clubs and women's journals, the use of literature in social activism. Edited by James P. Danky and Wayne A. Wiegand.