History Subject Guide: Europe (ancient, medieval, modern / Germany & France)

Now archived, this website Includes a searchable bibliography and links to online resources, including articles, book reviews, databases, and images. Also includes direct links to resources within The Perseus Digital Library and tips for finding other relevant information there.

Hosted by the Lillian Goldman Law Library at Yale Law School, The Avalon Project contains digitized documents relevant to Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government from Ancient Greece and Rome to the Twenty-First Century.

"Through a creative use of technology [this Brown University Italian Studies Dept.] project provides the reader with an easily accessible and flexible yet well-structured wealth of information on the literary, historical and cultural context of the Decameron, thus allowing a vivid yet rigorously philological understanding of the past in which the work was conceived."

Epistolae is a collection of medieval Latin letters to and from women. The letters collected here date from the 4th to the 13th centuries, and they are presented in their original Latin as well as in English translation.

Links to historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries.

(Sponsored by Georgetown University)

MESA is a federated international community of scholars, projects, institutions, and organizations engaged in digital scholarship within the field of medieval studies.

A scholarly resource for the study of women's religious communities from 400 to 1600 CE.

Includes both propaganda itself and material produced for the guidance of propagandists. In two sections, one devoted to the former German Democratic Republic and another much larger one dealing with Nazi propaganda, itself divided into three parts: pre-1933, 1933-45, and a separate collection of the works of Propaganda Minister Joseph Goebbels.

ZEFYS is a database of nearly 200 German-language historical newspapers held by the Berlin State Library as well as other European libraries. The site's interface is in both German and English.

Includes topical essays, images, maps, songs, personal memoirs, official reports, newspaper articles, treatises, eyewitness accounts-most of them translated from French to English.

This site is dedicated to the study of Napoleon Bonaparte, the Napoleonic Era, and the French Revolution providing access to contemporary documents.