Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference & Web Sources: International Relations
General International Relations: Reference & Web Sources
Handbook of International Relations by
Call Number: JZ 1242 .H365 2002 REF
Publication Date: 2002-03-13
Provides essays on key issues in international relations such as international development, feminist perspectives on international relations, international organizations and globalization. Each essay is accompanied by an extensive bibliography of readings.
Encyclopedia of Government and Politics V. 2 by
Call Number: JA 61 .C66 2004 (Basement Reference)
Publication Date: 2003-12-22
See Volume 2 of this set (p. 857 onwards) Part IX: International relations and Part X: Major issues in contemporary world politics. These two sections are particularly helpful, with essays written on contemporary issues in international relations including: theory of international relations, feminist approaches to international relations, the United Nations, globalization, democratization, Latin America: democratization and its consequences, and genocide. Bibliographies at the end of each essay make this a valuable resource.
The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World by
Call Number: JA 61 .O95 2001 REF
Publication Date: 2001-08-02
Covers key information in world politics as well as country information. Articles include detailed discussions of critical historical developments and events, concepts, international law, and organizations.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations by
Call Number: JZ 1160 .N65 2002 REF
Publication Date: 2002-05-30
Provides brief definitions of terms and concepts in international relations. Longer entries include a list of recommended readings on the subject. Publisher's description:
"Using humanistic principles to strip away the jargon and narrowness inherent in much of modern-day political scholarship, this historical encyclopedia reclaims the breadth of vision, the privileging of factual evidence over theory, and the moral tenor prevalent in classical political inquiry. Over 6,000 alphabetically arranged entries accompanied by 29 maps make this single-authored set the definitive desktop reference work on international relations and international history. The book's primary focus is upon the rise of the Great Powers and the course of world civilizations, their formative wars and diplomatic, political and economic relations. But a serious effort is made to cover all of the smaller and less powerful regions and their local history, along with how progressive inclusion into the modern state system affected them, both for good and ill."
SIPRI: Facts on International Relations and Security Trends (FIRST)
Information and data from research institutes around the world. A joint project of the International Relations and Security Network (ISN) and the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI).
Foreign Affairs Online
by Robert J. Beck, International Relations prof, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
"Specifically designed to assist students and other individuals interested in international relations, international law and U.S. foreign policy."
WWW International Library: International Affairs Resources
Frequently updated site containing over 2,000 annotated links to information sources on international relations. Maintained by Wayne A. Selcher, Dept. of Political Science, Elizabethtown College.
International Relations and Security Network
Based in the Centre for Security Studies at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich, the ISN presents news, research and other publications, e-learning opportunities and more in the areas of international relations, area studies, international business, security and military studies, comparative studies, and human rights.