Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference & Web Sources: International Relations
Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics by Covers current and past political development of Puerto Rico and the 20 independent republics of Central and South America and the Caribbean. Although coverage begins with the independence movements of the late 18th century, the book focuses mainly on the 20th century. Each chapter includes a Country Chart listing relevant economic, political, and social data; a Country Entry section containing 20 to 40 brief entries on important terms, events, and individuals; a list of presidents; and a bibliography.
Call Number: F 1410 .E56 2002 (Basement Reference)
Publication Date: 2002-06-30
Handbook of Latin American Studies
(Hispanic Division, Library of Congress)
A searchable bibliography of annotated references to books, book chapters, journal articles and conference papers on Latin America. Offers coverage from 1935 onwards. This is a multidisciplinary database that includes government, politics and international relations.
Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
(Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies, University of Texas at Austin)
This site aims "to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America." Most resources on this award-winning site have been designed for academic research and are divided by subject from the home page.
Political Database of the Americas
(Center for Latin American Studies, Georgetown University / Unit for the Promotion of Democracy, Organization of American States)
A resource for political information on the Internet with a primary focus on Latin America. The site is divided into sections on: constitutions, electoral systems & data, political parties, executive, legislative and judicial institutions, decentralization & local governance, democracy & citizen security, indigenous peoples & democracy, and civil society.