Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference & Web Sources: International Relations
Below are links to think-tanks that work in the field of international relations. All these sites provide access to full-text research articles or policy documents available at no charge.
Council on Foreign Relations
Non-partisan organization dedicated to improving awareness of foreign policy issues in the U.S. and worldwide. Click "Publications" for a bibliography of Council books and full text of reports, analysis and commentary.
The Council also publishes the journal Foreign Affairs, available in full text through ProQuest (1987 to present) and Business Source Elite (1985 to present) databases. Print copies from 1922 to present are in the Library at call number D 410 .F71 (ground floor).
Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
This private non-profit organization seeks to advance co-operation between nations and promote active U.S. engagement in international affairs. See Publications (bottom toolbar) for books, policy briefs, papers & articles. Browse by region, country or issue (see Topics, top toolbar). The Carnegie Endowment publishes Foreign Policy magazine, available at the Library at call number JX 1 .F5 from 1970 (ground level floor) or full text through ProQuest from Spring 1995 -
International Peace Academy
This international nonprofit institution promotes the prevention and settlement of armed conflicts through policy research and development. Reports can be downloaded from this site from the"Publications" link on the main page.
Center for Strategic & International Studies (CSIS)
This bipartisan, non-profit organization based in Washington DC provides research on strategic policy on current and emerging global issues.
This independent think tank was founded in 1916 and is based in Washington DC. Brookings has a wide-ranging research and public education program with one emphasis being foreign policy. See "International Affairs" under Research (top toolbar) for publications.
World Peace Foundation
Created in 1910 this body seeks to advance peace through study, analysis and advocacy. Select "Publications" from the main toolbar to download WPF reports on a variety of international issues.
United Nations University
Articles, policy briefs, working papers and research documents on a number of international issues.
International Studies Association
This site offers an archive of conference papers from 2000.