Mount A Libraries: Japanese Subject Guide: Citation Guides

Citing Your Sources

Copies of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 9th ed. 2021 are available in the Library Reference collection at LB 2369 .M52 2021.

Useful guides to using MLA style:

MLA Handbook Plus
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL Guide)

A guide produced by the Online Writing Lab at Purdue University.

You can find more information and other citation guides on the Research Help: Citation Guides page.

MLA Handbook Plus
"MLA Handbook Plus includes the full text of the ninth edition of the handbook and will soon host additional material, including other MLA guides and instructor resources."

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB 2369 .M52 2021
ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2021
The new 9th edition of the MLA Handbook was recently published and is now available in the library. The ninth edition "builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more."

8th edition (2016)

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: LB 2369 .G53 2016 REF
ISBN: 9781603292627
Publication Date: 2016
"Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In [the eighth edition] MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source."