Selected Japanese Internet Collections
Jim Breen's Japanese Page
A long-standing gateway site for all things Japanese. Includes links to language learning sites, software, online translation, arts, culture, news, etc.
Japanese Links
(Omniglot Writing Systems and Languages of the World)
Links to Japanese script, language lessons, dictionaries, newspapers, radio, etc.
Ebooks and Electronic Texts in Japanese
JAIRO (Japanese Institutional Repositories Online)
A searchable collection of many respositories including books, theses, datasets, learning materials, articles and more.
Japanese Text Initiative U. of Virginia and U. of Pittsburgh
Classical Japanese literature and dictionaries online.
Japan Foundation Toronto Digital Library
The JFT Library is a public lending library for anyone interested in Japan and Japanese culture. Available free-of-charge to registered patrons across Canada 14 years of age and over, JFToronto’s OverDrive collection includes Japan-related ebooks and audiobooks in English and Japanese, emphasizing language study, art, literature, history and culture.
Electronic Journals, Magazines, Radio & News Sources in Japanese
Japanese Magazines. From w3newspapers.com
Japanese Newspapers and News Sites. From w3newspapers.com
Radio Garden. This website allows you to listen to over 8,000 live radio stations from around the world. Created by Jonathan Puckey with financial support from the Netherlands Institute of Sound and Vision. Use the interactive map or search for stations in Japan.
Dictionaries and Language Learning Resources
JapanDict.com Japanese<->English, Kanji Search, and Multi Radical Kanji Search
Japanese Learner's Dictionary. By International Student Center at University of Tsukuba.
Japanese Lessons Online (Omniglot list)
Jisho A Japanese-English dictionary that lets you find words, kanji, and sentences. It searches texts to help you understand the words, kanji and grammar patterns.
Linguee (English-Japanese dictionary with example sentences from selected reliable translation sources.
NIHONGO eな Portal for Learning Japanese. By the Japan Foundation Japanese-Language Institute, Kansai. Lots of language learning resources including hiragana, katakana, pronunciation, kanji, grammar, greetings, useful phrases, audio, articles, lessons, etc.
Rosetta Stone interactive language lessons. Available to NB residents with a public library card. See NPLS Online Databases
Visualizing Japanese Grammar (by Shoko Hamano, George Washington University)
YourDictionary.com
The largest collection of online dictionaries, includes many Japanese dictionaries.
Cultural Information
Japan Foundation
Has information on Japanese arts and culture, and cultural exchanges.
Web Japan
Sponsored by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan, this site provides information on Japan and Japanese culture.
Japanese-Language Libraries Online
Libraries.org
A directory of libraries worldwide maintained by Marshall Breeding. (For a list of over 300 libraries in Japan enter Japan in the search box, or click on "more search options" to search by country, city, library type, etc.)
Japanese-Language Publishers & Booksellers
Books.or.jp (Search engine for Japanese books in print)
Directory of Publishers: Japan (by PublishersGlobal.com)
Searchable by country, language, subject, or publisher name