Skip to Main Content

Mount Allison University Libraries | Music Library

William Morley Tweedie: Photographs

A virtual exhibition on one of Mount Allison University's most notable professors.

Photograph Gallery

Below you will find a selection of images from Tweedie family fonds (5201). Click on the images to enlarge. You can also find more photographs and peruse the contents of the fonds by using our Descriptions Database.

Tweedie family pictures

Wedding portrait of William Tweedie and Dorcas Calkin in 1856. Image is bordered by a frame.

Wedding portrait of Rev. William Tweedie and Dorcas (Calkin) Tweedie, 1856

Mount Allison University Archives. Tweedie family fonds, 5201/8/1/1

May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

A young Leora Rebecca Tweedie sits beside her mother, Dorcas (Calkin) Tweedie, circa 1861. They are both wearing dresses typical of the Victorian era. Dorcas holds a book in her lap while Leora holds a black and white kitten.

Leora Rebecca Tweedie with her mother, Dorcas (Calkin) Tweedie, [ca. 1861]

Mount Allison University Archives. Tweedie family fonds, 5201/8/1/4

May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

A young Leora Rebecca Tweedie sits by a chair with her face in her hand, circa 1864. She is surrounded by clothes and objects typical of the period. Image is a black and white tintype with some added colours.

Leora Rebecca Tweedie as a child, [ca. 1864]

Mount Allison University Archives. Tweedie family fonds, 5201/8/1/5

May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Leora Rebecca Tweedie and William Morley Tweedie as young children, circa 1865. They are both standing in a photographer's studio. Leora wears a dress and holds a hat in her hand. William wears a suit. Image is sepia-toned.

Leora Rebecca and William Morley Tweedie, [ca. 1865]

Mount Allison University Archives. Tweedie family fonds, 5201/8/1/6

May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Leora Rebecca Tweedie as a young woman standing by a settee in a photographer's studio. She wears a dress typical of the late Victorian era and her hair is pleated. Image is sepia-toned and was taken on 16 October 1880.

Portrait of Leora Rebecca Tweedie,16 October 1880

Mount Allison University Archives. Tweedie family fonds, 5201/8/1/7

May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives

William Morley Tweedie as a young man standing in a photographer's studio. He wears a black suits and is holding a hat in his right hand. Image is in black and white and was taken circa 1882.

Portrait of William Morley Tweedie, [ca. 1882]

Mount Allison University Archives. Tweedie family fonds, 5201/8/1/8

May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Portrait of Nettie Eliza Tweedie as a young woman, taken circa 1891. Image is mounted. Mount bears the photographer's mark which reads

Portrait of Nettie Eliza Tweedie, [1891]

Mount Allison University Archives. Tweedie family fonds, 5201/8/1/46

May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

W.W. Beer and Nettie (Tweedie) Beer sitting in a photographer's studio while their dog lays on the ground at their feet. William wears a suit while Nettie wears a dress typical of the period. Photograph taken in 1894.

Portrait Nettie (Tweedie) Beer with her husband W.W. Beer and their dog, 1894

Mount Allison University Archives. Tweedie family fonds, 5201/8/1/48

May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

William Morley Tweedie sitting in a tent with his mother Dorcas, Reverend C.H. Paisley, and two unidentified women. Image was likely taken in the 1890s. Both men wear suits. Dorcas wears a black Victorian dress. The two other women are dressed in white blouses with black skirts. There is a table and a hammock in the tent.

William Morley Tweedie, Dorcas (Calkins) Tweedie, Rev. C.H. Paisley and two unidentified women, [189-]

Mount Allison University Archives. Tweedie family fonds, 5201/8/1/31

May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

William Morley Tweedie walking down York Street in Sackville, New Brunswick during winter in the late 1890s. He wears a coat over his suit as well as a hat and gloves. His house, the men's residence, and a white fence are visible in the background.

W.M. Tweedie walking down York Street with his house and the First University Men’s Residence in the background, [between 1894 and 1899]

Mount Allison University Archives. Tweedie family fonds, 5201/8/1/16

May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Dorcas (Calkin) Tweedie sitting with her daughter Nettie (Tweedie) Beer, who is holding her infant daughter Eleanor Beer. Image was taken on 2 August 1897 and is affixed to a green mount with white decorative flowers.

Dorcas (Calkin) Tweedie, Eleanor Beer, and Nettie (Tweedie) Beer, 2 August 1897

Mount Allison University Archives. Tweedie family fonds, 5201/8/1/54

May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

William Morley Tweedie in a doorway dressed in a grey suit and hat. Image was likely taken in the 1930s.

William Morley Tweedie, [193-]

Mount Allison University Archives. Tweedie family fonds, 5201/8/1/23

May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Nettie (Tweedie) Beer standing in front of a decorative table in a photographer's studio on the boardwalk in Atlantic City. She wears a black skirt and coat, black gloves, and a black hat. The photograph was taken on 15 May 1915 and is sepia-toned.

Nettie (Tweedie) Beer on the boardwalk in Atlantic City, 15 May 1915

Mount Allison University Archives. Tweedie family fonds, 5201/8/1/57

May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

One woman and two men dressed in convocation regalia standing in front of Centennial Hall.

Marion (Machum) Bennett, W.M. Tweedie, and Albert Trueman standing by Centennial Hall at convocation, [between 1930 and 1932?]

Mount Allison University Archives. Tweedie family fonds, 5201/8/1/33

May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

A man and woman stand in a field with trees in the background. Both are dressed for the outdoors. Morley holds flowers in his hand.

William Morley Tweedie and Catherine Young, [ca. 1940]

Mount Allison University Archives. Tweedie family fonds, 5201/8/1/34

May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

A man and two women standing in front of a house porch. There are trees in the background. All three are dressed for the outdoors with coats and hats.

William Morley Tweedie, Elizabeth King, and Leora Tweedie, [ca. 1940]

Mount Allison University Archives. Tweedie family fonds, 5201/8/1/36

May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

A group of six men and women standing in front of a lake.

Nettie (Tweedie) Beer, S.W. Hunton, Leora Tweedie, Dorothy Hunton, W.M. Tweedie, and Mr. Simmons, [ca. 1940]

Mount Allison University Archives. Tweedie family fonds, 5201/8/1/38

May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Nettie (Tweedie) Beer sitting in a chair by a window knitting.

Nettie (Tweedie) Beer, [ca. 1944]

Mount Allison University Archives. Tweedie family fonds, 5201/8/1/64

May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.

Photograph of a painting of William Morley Tweedie in regalia. See description below for additional information.

Photograph of W.M. Tweedie’s official portrait by Lawren Harris, Jr. [ca. 1950]

Mount Allison University Archives. Tweedie family fonds, 5201/8/1/28

May only be reproduced with permission of the Mount Allison University Archives.