Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner image for Mount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesBanner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

Library Services During COVID-19 Period: Home

UPDATED 10 May 2022: The Libraries & Archives are open to Mount Allison students, faculty and staff as well as to community users. 

Masks are still required at all times unless actively eating or drinking or when alone in a room. 

See Library hours

Connecting from Off Campus

In order to access online Mount A Library resources, you need to be authenticated as a Mount A student, faculty or employee. 


For article databases, ebooks, journals, and streaming media:

Use your Mount A username and 14+ character password.


For your Novanet library account status, renewing loans, and complete Novanet results in the catalogue

In the "Barcode" field use your student number (with the first zero).  In the "Password" field, use your four-digit PIN**.

** your PIN is usually the last 4 digits of your phone number. If your PIN does not work, please contact us to get it re-set.

Librarians & Archivist

Librarians & Archivists

Renée Belliveau | 364-2563
Acting University Archivist

Anita Cannon | 364-2572
Commerce, Economics, Environmental Studies, Geography, German Literature, Government Information, Law, Languages & Linguistics

Stephen Geier | 364-2610
Data and Digital Services, Science Consultations (by appointment)

Gavin Goodwin | 364-2561
Music, Fine Arts, Classics, and Visual & Material Culture

Anne LePage | 364-2691
Religious Studies, Sociology

Jeff Lilburn | 364-2237
Drama, English, French Literature, Philosophy, Psychology

David Mawhinney (University Archivist) | 364-2563
(On sabbatical leave until July 1, 2022)

Elizabeth Millar | 364-2386
Canadian Studies, History, Indigenous Studies, Military & Naval Sciences, Politics & International Relations, Rare Books & Special Collections, Women's & Gender Studies

Elizabeth Stregger | 364-2610
(Data and Digital Services -- On sabbatical leave until July 1, 2022)

Want to know more about the Library of Congress Classification System? See the Understanding Call Numbers section of the Research Tips page.

The Library is here to answer your questions and help you find information you need. 

Reach us by:

email us

chat with us  

phone us 

book an appointment 

General:
circ@mta.ca
Research:
infodesk@mta.ca

Chat with us

General:
506-364-2568
Research:
506-364-2564

Book a research appointment with a Subject Librarian

Services affected by Covid:

Library Services

Availability

Research help 

Available virtually:

Librarian research consultations

Available virtually (email, telephone, Teams/Zoom, etc.)

Citation assistance

Available virtually:

Access to R.P. Bell & Music Libraries

Libraries are open to current students, staff, and faculty as well as community borrowers  (Community users must provide proof of vaccinations)

Note: open hours for both libraries vary depending on campus and provincial guidelines

Access to print collections 
  • Browse print stacks during open hours 
  • Request books via Library-to-Go or by placing a hold in Novanet.
  • Books-by-mail service is available for students and staff who are not on campus. Details here.

See also Ebooks 

Library to Go, Novanet Express requests, holds, &  interlibrary loan pickups

Users are free to pick up requested items during open hours (no pickup appointment necessary) 

Archives

Limited: Contact Archives for info

See also Archives Descriptions Database

Special Collections

Limited: Contact Special Collections for info

Interlibrary loans Available, however there may be delays for delivery of some requests due to other library service closures

Services affected due to shifting library hours

Library services Notes (where applicable):
Borrowing physical items   

Access to course reserves

Loan renewals 
Loan returns
  • Contact-free drop box always available, located just outside the R.P. Bell Library main doors
  • Not in Sackville? Return books to any Novanet member library in Nova Scotia
Printing, photocopying, & scanning
Equipment borrowing (Mac chargers, laptops, etc.)  
Study & group spaces

Services always available:  

Library Services Availability
Subject guides See the list of guides available
Research databases  See A-Z list of databases 
Streaming media See A-Z list of databases with streaming media
Novanet Express Place holds in Novanet and receive books via Library-to-Go pick-up

 

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.


Book an appointment with a librarian

Librarians are available to meet with you by phone or online.   

Open Educational Resources logo

Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching and learning resources that are freely available to educators and learners.This guide provides links and information for faculty exploring OER as teaching resources.

Fair Dealing in Exceptional Circumstances

Sam Trosow, associate professor of Law and Information Science at Western University, has posted an analysis of Canadian fair dealing in these exceptional COVID-19 circumstances.  Details here

With credit to Mount Saint Vincent University Libraries for format and content within this page.