Mount A Libraries: Library Services During COVID-19 Period: Home

Quick Links

Connecting from Off Campus

In order to access online Mount A Library resources, you need to be authenticated as a Mount A student, faculty or employee.

For article databases, ebooks, journals, and streaming media:

Use your Mount A username and 14+ character password.

For your Novanet library account status, renewing loans, and complete Novanet results in the catalogue

Use your Mount A username with the @mta suffix and 14+ character password.

Librarians & Archivist

Anne LePage | 506-364-2691
(on sabbatical leave until June 30, 2024)

David Mawhinney | 506-364-2563
University Archives: Mount Allison historical records, selected local community records

Elizabeth Stregger | 506-364-2610 | Request appointment
Data and Digital Services | Math and Computer Science (by appointment)

Jeff Lilburn | Retired 2023

Want to know more about the Library of Congress Classification System? See the Understanding Call Numbers section of the Research Tips page.

The Library is here to answer your questions and help you find information you need.

Reach us by:


General: circ@mta.ca Research: infodesk@mta.ca	Chat with us	General: 506-364-2568 Research: 506-364-2564	Book a research appointment with a Subject Librarian

Services affected by Covid:

Library Services	Availability
Research help	Available in-person at Research Help Desk or virtually: email infodesk@mta.ca chat with us
Librarian research consultations	Available in-person or virtually: see librarians by subject area for contact info schedule appointment online
Citation assistance	Available in-person or virtually: email infodesk@mta.ca chat with us
Access to R.P. Bell & Music Libraries	Libraries are open to everyone.
Access to print collections	Browse print stacks during open hours Request books via by placing a hold in Novanet. Books-by-mail service is available for students and staff who are not on campus. Details here. See also Ebooks
Novanet Express requests, holds, & interlibrary loan pickups	Users are free to pick up requested items during open hours
Archives	Contact Archives for info See also Archives Descriptions Database
Special Collections	Contact Special Collections for info
Interlibrary loans	Available

Services affected due to shifting library hours

Library services	Notes (where applicable):
Borrowing physical items
Access to course reserves	Students can email circ@mta.ca with queries Faculty: to set up course reserves use our online request form or e-mail circ@mta.ca
Loan renewals	Renew online Renewals may also be requested in person, by phoning 506-364-2568, or by emailing circ@mta.ca and turnaround may be impacted by open hours
Loan returns	Contact-free drop box always available, located just outside the R.P. Bell Library main doors Not in Sackville? Return books to any Novanet member library in Nova Scotia
Printing, photocopying, & scanning	Upload print jobs to PaperCut (also known as studentprint) and release jobs at printers in the R.P. Bell or Music Library
Equipment borrowing (Mac chargers, laptops, etc.)
Study & group spaces	Book spaces online

Services always available:

Library Services	Availability
Subject guides	See the list of guides available
Research databases	See A-Z list of databases
Streaming media	See A-Z list of databases with streaming media
Novanet Express	Place holds in Novanet.

Book an appointment with a librarian

Librarians are available to meet with you in person, by phone, or online.

Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching and learning resources that are freely available to educators and learners.This guide provides links and information for faculty exploring OER as teaching resources.

Fair Dealing in Exceptional Circumstances

Sam Trosow, associate professor of Law and Information Science at Western University, has posted an analysis of Canadian fair dealing in these exceptional COVID-19 circumstances. Details here.