Skip to main content
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

About the Libraries: Values and Guiding Principles

The Mount Allison University Libraries and Archives include the Ralph Pickard Bell Library (Main Library), the Alfred Whitehead Music Library, and the University Archives.

The Mount Allison LIbraries and Archives

Inside the R.P. Bell Library

Research Help Desk
Convocation 2017 procession by the R.P. Bell Library

"Best of the Bell" Report

“Best of the Bell” Report, March 2015

by COMM 4331: Management of Organizational Change, supervised by Dr. Judith Holton

To assist with the library’s strategic planning process, Dr. Holton’s class used an Appreciative Inquiry (AI) process to discover and explore what students and faculty of MTA value most about the R.P. Bell Library and its services.

Appreciative Inquiry emphasizes a holistic approach to mobilizing energy for change by focusing on what an organization or group already does well in order to amplify and continue these processes into the future.  

You can read the students’ report on the project and  patrons’ library experiences here:

Our Values and Guiding Principles

The Mount Allison Libraries and Archives' commitment to teaching, learning, research, and scholarship supports and advances the academic mission of the University. All library staff are engaged in providing services to users -- whether through direct interaction or behind-the-scenes activities -- and contribute to the Libraries and Archives' role in the pursuit, creation, dissemination and preservation of knowledge.

Our activities are informed by the following values and guiding principles:

  1. a commitment to providing the highest level of service to all patrons;
  2. the advancement of knowledge;
  3. equitable access to information and knowledge;
  4. intellectual freedom, academic freedom, and the integrity of scholarly research;
  5. libraries are unique and special places;
  6. libraries and archives both contribute to, and are themselves a public good;
  7. the right to privacy;
  8. engaged and critical citizenship;
  9. a consideration of the social impacts of our actions;
  10. preservation and stewardship;
  11. connecting patrons with information and knowledge using the most effective services, tools, and systems possible;
  12. empowering individuals and communities through teaching and learning;
  13. fostering a work environment characterized by mutual respect, openness, cooperation, and professionalism.

14 April 2014 (ver. 1.0)

10 Things to Know about the Mount Allison Libraries and Archives

  1. We’re here to help you.
  2. Your student ID card is your library card.
  3. You (students) can borrow up to 50 books for 3 weeks each.
  4. You can renew your books online, over the phone, or in person.
  5. Fines can add up quickly so keep an eye on your due dates.
  6. When a prof tells you material is “on reserve”, simply ask for the items you need at the Access Services desk (remember to bring your ID card).
  7. The library web site is a great place to start your research.
  8. You can access most of the library’s databases from home through the library web site. Off-campus, you need your Mount A username and password.
  9. You’re not bothering the librarians at the Research Help Desk when you ask a question.
  10. We’re here to help you.