Skip to main content
Banner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

The Newsstand: News & Happenings @MTA_Libraries

Library Newsletter: 2018-19

by Laura Landon on 2019-06-12T16:17:30-03:00 | Comments

 

image of typewriter with paper titled "From the Libraries & Archives"


Roughly three times yearly the Libraries & Archives submits a report to the
Atlantic Provinces Library Association Bulletin outlining library news, librarian & staff activities, and other noteworthy happenings. The report below lists some notable things we did over the 2018-19 academic year.

 


 

Staff News:

  • The Library and Archives welcomes students Susanna Cupido, Marin McBeath and Cameron Hambrook as summer interns under the New Brunswick Government’s Student Employment Experience Development (SEED) program. Susanna, Marin and Cameron will be working on various projects throughout the Library.
     
  • Victor Lima joined the University Archives in January 2019 as J.E.A. Crake ArtsWork Intern. He has been working with the University Archivist on the records of the R.C. Goodwin Company of Baie Verte, New Brunswick and on reports from the 1930s - 1950s by Biology students on community health throughout the Maritimes.
     
  • In April and May 2019, the Library welcomed MLIS student Steve Geier, who did his practicum in the Mount Allison Library. Steve worked with Data & Digital Services Librarian Elizabeth Stregger to develop faculty and student publication collections in our Institutional Repository. Steve works as a research associate in Mount Allison’s Chemistry and Biochemistry department, and is a student in the University of Alberta’s MLIS program.

  • Librarian Jeff Lilburn served a second year as President of the Mount Allison Faculty Association (MAFA) in 2018-19. Jeff served for a number of years on the MAFA executive and on its negotiating teams during the last two rounds of collective bargaining.
     
  • Laura Landon, head of Access Services, served a second year as subject librarian for Sociology in 2018-19, filling in for Jeff Lilburn. Laura served as a Public Services Librarian at Mount Allison for two separate sabbatical replacements in 2013 - 2015, and has been Head of Access Services since July 2015.
     
  • Renée Belliveau joined the Library as an Archival Intern in September 2018. A Mount A alumna, Renée has a Master's degree in English Literature from the University of Waterloo. She plans to pursue her MLIS in 2019. Renée has been researching and writing about Acadian history at Mount Allison, and updating the Archives' web pages, among other projects. Her latest projects -- virtual exhibitions on Acadian history and the Libraries' & Archives' history -- can be found here and here.
     
  • Long-time Access Services Assistant Brenda Snowdon retired on Sept. 30, 2018. Brenda was the library’s informal “ambassador of cheer” for 25 years. She also developed extensive knowledge of the Library’s stack space and the mechanics of shifting a large collection. To read more about Brenda, see the Newsstand – ‘Ambassador of Cheer’ Brenda Snowdon retires from Library.
     
  • Susan Duke joined the Library as an Access Services Assistant in September 2018. Susan worked for the Peace River Municipal Library in Alberta as an interlibrary loans clerk and Access Services Assistant for four years. She also ran a high-school library in Peace River in 2013-14.
     
  • Rodney Howland joined the Library as an Access Services Assistant in October 2018. Rodney has 20 years’ experience as a Library Assistant, primarily at UNB and McMaster University. He is a library technician and librarian.


Events and Related News:

  • The Libraries & Archives joined the Novanet consortium of academic libraries in 2018. We are in the process of a systems migration from SirsiDynix to Novanet’s Ex Libris platform. Migration work is ongoing and the new system is scheduled to go live in July 2019.
     
  • The Library concluded its successful “Our Picks” author speaking series in February 2019 with a talk by award-winning writer and filmmaker Katherena Vermette (The Break and others). University Librarian Marc Truitt created the Our Picks series by asking staff and librarians what Canadian authors they would like to bring to Mount Allison, which led to the 2018-19 lineup of four authors: Omar El Akkad; Peter Robinson; Sean Michaels; and Katherena Vermette. The events brought authors to the Library and into Mount Allison classrooms.  
     
  • Data and Digital Services Librarian Elizabeth Stregger and Jaclyn McLean, a librarian at the University of Saskatchewan, had a poster presentation at the International Evidence Based Library and Information Practice Conference (EBLIP10) in Glasgow, Scotland in June 2019. The poster presented the initial results of their survey on unaffiliated users and access to academic library collections.
     
  • Data and Digital Services Librarian Elizabeth Stregger is co-teaching a new, third-year Spring session course called Operational Data Science with faculty members from Computer Science and Biology. They are using open educational resources such as an adapted New England Collaborative Data Management Curriculum (NECDMC), R, and the open access textbook R for Data Science by Hadley Wickham and Garrett Groleman.
     
  • In September 2018, the Libraries & Archives hosted the University's second summit on Digital Literacy and Citizenship @ MTA. Participants explored the meaning of digital literacy and digital citizenship as well as what core competencies students need for an undergraduate degree. Several members of the organizing group will be using the results from the two summits to develop a green paper on next steps for consideration by the Provost and Vice President Academic and Research, Jeff Ollerhead.

 


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Twitter
  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...