Skip to main content
Banner image for Mount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesBanner image link to Mount Allison UniversityMount Allison University Libraries and ArchivesImage Map
Hours | Libraries Home | Music Library | University Archives

The Newsstand: News & Happenings @MTA_Libraries

Online Resources and Librarian Assistance: We're Here to Help

by Laura Landon on 2020-03-16T14:08:00-03:00 | Comments

 

The Library has many online resources to help you during this period of class and campus closures caused by COVID-19. To get access to your subscription resources off-campus, log in when prompted with your Mount A username and 14+ character password.
 

ONLINE JOURNALS: The Library subscribes to millions of electronic journals available through our 260+ databases. You can find these databases through our A-Z List. You can search individual journal titles through Journal Finder. Many journal articles are also accessible through the Novanet catalogue.
 

E-BOOKS: For links to the library's major e-book collections see: http://libraryguides.mta.ca/find_information/ebooks

These books are also searchable through the Novanet catalogue.                  Ebook Central

Special mention: ProQuest has opened its Ebook Central collection to provide access to titles from 50+ publishers. You can search them through the Ebook Central site, or through the Novanet catalogue.

 

STREAMING VIDEO & AUDIO: The Library has 14 databases that give you access to streaming music, films, TV shows, theatre, and more. Notable mention: Kanopy is providing content to additional movies and documentaries for the next month.
 

OTHER OPEN ACCESS SOURCES: Open Access collections such as the BC Open Textbook collection, which has more than 300 textbooks in a variety of subjects, are searchable through the Novanet catalogue.


For news of new and trial databases, see our A-Z List of Databases.
 

HELP FROM LIBRARIANS & ARCHIVIST: Librarians are happy to provide assistance. You can contact us several ways:

PRINT BOOKS: We understand that you may need extended borrowing periods. We will help you get the resources you need without incurring fines.

BooksNovanet is extending the due date of most of its borrowed materials to May 30. This applies to books borrowed from Mount Allison or any other Novanet library.  If you have any problems or need materials for longer than your renewals allow, please e-mail circ@mta.ca.

We will waive any overdue fines on Mount Allison books that people incur because of COVID-19-related circumstances.

Books from Novanet Libraries  -- which include Mount Allison and all academic libraries in Nova Scotia -- can be returned at any Novanet library. This means you can drop your Mount A books at a Dalhousie library, for example, and the books will be returned to us.

Interlibrary loans of books from outside Novanet Libraries must be returned to Mount Allison. For questions about interlibrary loans, please contact nbsam@mta.ca.

Need course reserve content but you are off campus or in self-isolation? Please e-mail us and we'll see if arrangements can be made to get you a print or online copy.

Please follow our website for updates on building hours and services.

For updates on campus closures and other coronavirus-related issues, please see the COVID-19 FAQ page.

 


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Twitter
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...