Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching in HerbalGram
Direct access to the journal HerbalGram is provided via the Herbalgram tab on this guide. To search within HerbalGram issues, use the link listed below. Note that you will not be able to access the full text of all articles through this search tool. In some cases you will need to record the issue information and then go to the HerbalGram tab for full access to the article.
Looking for paper issues? See call number SB 351 .H5 H57 in JOURNAL STACKS.
Native American Ethnobotany "A Database of Foods, Drugs, Dyes and Fibers of Native American Peoples, Derived from Plants." Most items include a direct link to the USDA (US Dept. of Agriculture) Plants Database. Supported by University of Michigan - Dearborn.
Wild Plants of Eastern Canada by "Wild Plants of Eastern Canada is a comprehensive guide to the region's plants, including their culinary, medicinal, folk, and ecological uses. The book also explores the cultural history of wild plant use among Aboriginal-Mi'kmaq, Maliseet, and Passamaquoddy-and non-Aboriginal-Black, Acadian, and Celtic-peoples. Bridging the academic and the popular, the book includes easy-to-read profiles of sixty plant species, each identified with an actual size leaf-print specimen as well as a realistic reproduction for identification. Nearly sixty recipes are included for use in contemporary cuisine. The book does not include cultivated plants, seaweeds, or trees. Includes safety tips for identifying and avoiding poisonous plants." (Publisher's website)
Call Number: QK 203 .E37 W34 2008 REF
Publication Date: 2008
Flora of New Brunswick, 2nd edition by "A manual for identification of the vascular plants of New Brunswick." Includes maps and drawings.
Call Number: QK 203 .N53 H56 2000 REF
Publication Date: 2000
Roland's Flora of Nova Scotia by "Roland’s Flora of Nova Scotia is the most comprehensive book ever published on the province’s plants. It is an indispensable resource for anyone interested in what grows where in Nova Scotia. With easy-to-read descriptions, foolproof keys and complete, illustrated glossary, readers can quickly find the information they need. Each plant description outlines the features most helpful in identifying that plant, and includes interesting facts about it’s folklore, herbal applications, toxicity, and edibility. The many distribution maps and illustrations also support accurate and simple plant identification." (Publisher's website)
Call Number: QK 203 .N6 R6 1998 REF
Publication Date: 1998
A Field Guide to Eastern Edible Wild Plants by Descriptions of more than 370 edible wild plants and 37 poisonous look-alikes; includes drawings, color photographs, habitat descriptions, lists of plants by season, and preparation instructions for food uses.
Call Number: QK 98.5 .U6 P47 REF
Publication Date: 1978-03-01
Flora of North America by Comprehensive taxonomic guide to the extraordinary diversity of plant life blanketing our continent north of Mexico - including Greenland and the St. Pierre and Miquelon islands. The collaborative effort of more than 30 major U.S. and Canadian botanical institutions, it revises and synthesizes literally thousands of floristic monographs and regional floras published over the last three centuries.
Call Number: QK 110 .F56 1993 Basement Reference
Publication Date: 1993-11-04
Handbook of Medicinal Herbs by Still considered the definitive work on medicinal herbs and their uses after two decades, the Handbook of Medicinal Herbs has undergone a long-anticipated revision. In the second edition, world-renowned ethnobotanist James A. Duke provides up-to-date data on over 800 of the world's most important medicinal plant species. The book contains more species, phytochemicals, proven indications, folk indications, and dosage data than the first edition in a new easier to use format. The in-depth content, the addition of color plates and over 200 black and white illustrations makes this book the most comprehensive resource on medicinal herbs available.
Call Number: QK 99 .A1 D83 2002 REF
Publication Date: 2002-06-27
World Economic Plants by Providing a means for international standardization, this comprehensive reference compiles essential information for more than 11,000 vascular plants of commercial importance throughout the world. For each plant, the text presents the accepted scientific name, synonyms, common names, economic uses, and geographical information.
Call Number: SB 107 .W485 2013 REF
Publication Date: 2013-01-07
The Encyclopedia of Herbs by Provides information on every aspect of growing, identifying, harvesting, preserving, and using more than 500 species of herbs. Profiles provide a plant's botanical name and family, whether it is an annual or perennial, its height, hardiness, light requirements, water consumption, required soil type, and pH. The often fascinating history of the plant, the chemistry of its essential oils, and its culinary, landscape, and craft uses are also included, as is advice on how to propagate.
Call Number: SB 351 .H5 T777 2009 REF
Publication Date: 2009-09-16
Native American Medicinal Plants by In Native American Medicinal Plants, anthropologist Daniel E. Moerman describes the medicinal use of more than 2700 plants by 218 Native American tribes. Information includes 82 categories of medicinal uses, ranging from analgesics, contraceptives, gastrointestinal aids, hypotensive medicines, sedatives, and toothache remedies.
Call Number: RS 171 .M64 2009 REF
Publication Date: 2009-05-13
The ABC Clinical Guide to Herbs by Published by the American Botanical Council (ABC), this book contains comprehensive, scientifically based information on 29 herbs and 13 proprietary herbal products.
Call Number: RM 666 .H33 A175 2003 REF
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Desk Reference to Nature's Medicine by For millennia, humans have looked to nature for remedies to ailments great and small. Long before formal science enabled us to take a systematic approach to medicine, healers used plants to alleviate pain, ease the symptoms of dozens of diseases, and treat complaints of every kind. Featuring 350 full-color photographs, botanical drawings, and maps, this accessible, fact-filled book is based on the work of renowned botanical experts and presents alphabetically arranged, beautifully illustrated entries for hundreds of plants touted for millennia to soothe, even heal. Each is clearly described, with full details of its physical appearance and medicinal uses; its origins and geographic distribution, how it's harvested and used in conventional and alternative medicine, a range map; and more. It's also a fascinating medical chronicle filled with informative sidebars on everything from ancient folklore to the latest research. Readers learn how aspirin evolved from a concoction of willow bark to the familiar white pill of today, how the foxglove's flowery beauty contributes to the potent heart drug digitalis, and how many other now common treatments have deep historical and cultural roots. It's a journey that starts many centuries ago in remote places like the Amazon rain forest, where shamans practiced their powerful curative magic of plants, and leads to the high-tech pharmaceutical labs of today's scientists working to discover new plant-based drugs that can be used effectively to treat diseases major and minor alike, from cancer to the common cold.
Call Number: RS 164 .F698 2006 REF
Publication Date: 2006-04-18
Medicinal Plants of the World by Medicinal Plants of the World is a comprehensive and scientifically accurate guide to the best-known and most important medicinal plants. The book includes descriptions of more than 300 medicinal plants and their close relatives. Each entry gives a short summary with a description of the plant, the geographical origin, therapeutic category, historical and modern uses, active ingredients, and pharmacological effects. More than 500 full-color photographs assist in the identification of the plants.
Call Number: RS 164 .V295 2004 REF
Publication Date: 2004-02-15
Searching in Journal of Ethnobiology
Use this link for searching within Journal of Ethnobiology. You will not have access to full text articles here. Note the citation information, then go to Journal Stacks, call no. SB 351 .H5 H57.
SEARCH TIP: To search within this journal, click on the link above, then choose Advanced Search (upper right of screen). Enter search terms, then go to Refine By -- Select Title(s) (left of screen) and choose the journal title from the list.
Questions? Ask the Anthropology Librarian